We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge the book by its cover.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Nothing flash but quite comfortable for the family. Spacious room with good beds. Huge screen TV not found often in hotel rooms. Breakfast could be better including more fresh options. We took advantage of take out bags of water cookies and snack bars which was an added bonus. Value for money and walking distance to most things such as Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal and Museum of Nature.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank brendajoyroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTBI, Guest Services at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the candid feedback. We will take note of your suggestions in regards to the breakfast. Overall, we are happy to hear you had enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017

My wife and I visited Ottawa from Australia on 19th October 2017, we stayed at this establishment for 3 nights in a mini studio. The room is huge with plenty of wardrobe and bench space through out room. It came with a fridge, microwave, sink, computer, coffee machine, computer/desk, big screen tv and a comfortable bed. The location is fantastic, you are close to everything. Staff are friendly and the breakfast is delicious. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our travels and the price is very reasonable for what you get. They even have breakfast packs if you have to leave early in the morning.

Room Tip: mini studio is big enough for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bon1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTBI, Guest Services at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for the valuable feedback! We are pleased to hear you had enjoyed our breakfast, found the front desk staff to be polite and helpful in addition to finding our establishment to be one of the best hotels during your travel. Hopefully we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The building, elevators, parking, etc. are a bit old and beat up (like all buildings in this area), but the room itself was excellent, and the bathroom was brand new. Kitchenette was great, with a regular size fridge, oven, microwave oven, sink, and cookware plus utensils. The free breakfast was excellent (for continental). WiFi was fast and reliable. Parking a bit on the expensive side ($15 per night).
Overall, I was quite happy, especially given the reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shervin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTBI, Guest Services at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for your candid comments. We are happy to hear you had enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

I recently stayed at the Business Inn on a business trip to Ottawa and was very impressed with my room - which was actually more like a small apartment. Very simple yet tasteful and convenient. Everything I could possibly need or think of was already there waiting for me and the staff were polite and most helpful. Full-size range and fridge, breakfast downstairs with lots of everything and a computer and printer in my room. Even stage lights around the bathroom mirror - great plus for performers. I recommend this accommodation and will stay here next time I am in Ottawa. My only real complaint is not actually regarding the Business Inn but rather the location of my room since there was a booming disco across the street. I didn't appreciate the noise when I needed to sleep however I noticed the hotel had thoughtfully placed a white noise machine in the room to combat the disturbance somewhat. In future I will request a room elsewhere in the building should I make a return visit.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeffsZ384NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTBI, Guest Services at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for your candid comments! We are happy to hear you had enjoyed your stay in addition to all the amenities we provide. Glad to hear the white noise machine had somewhat helped. We apologize for the disturbance. Hopefully we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

The rooms are like full aparments which is awesome. They come with a full kitchen, dining area, living room and a computer desk with a computer. It is definitely a dated place so not for someone looking for a modern and updated hotel. I feel like it would be good for a family though. Lots of space!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBIGuestServices, Guest Services at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for the candid comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the spacious room layout as well as your stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 km away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
1.4 km away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#13 of 68 in Ottawa
808 reviews
0.6 km away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
430 reviews
4.9 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: ₹ 5,536 - ₹ 8,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing