We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant for family events”
Review of Grill 41

Grill 41
Reserve with OpenTable
Grill 41 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #276 of 2,882 Restaurants in Ottawa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a friendly casual fine dining restaurant in the heart of Ottawa. Our focus is food and guests. We love serving groups, families and travellers.
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We have been to Grill41 three times in the last 4 months. We went to their Mother's Day brunch buffet in May, we had an intimate family luncheon after my daughter's wedding at the Courthouse in July, and we celebrated my and our new son-in-law's birthdays in August. Three quite different events, and all three visits were wonderful!
The Mother's Day Brunch was a buffet, and the variety was excellent. The food was hot, whether it was from the carvery station, the pad thai station, or the servery dishes. The dessert option of fruit flambeed with ice cream was delicious! Our wedding lunch was magnificent. Guests chose what they preferred from the menu. We asked the chef to create the wedding cake based on a picture from Pinterest - it not only was the most ethereal buttercream moist cake ever, it was beautifully presented like its picture. They added a gorgeous fruit display as well. Excellent. Service was attentive, efficient, and fast. Our regular luncheon was delivered with the same excellent, friendly service and was equally delicious. I recommend Grill41 to anyone who enjoys fine dining, at a reasonable price, and served well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saba F, Manager at Grill 41, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear Martha R,

Thank you very much for such an incredible review of your experiences with us at Grill 41. It was an absolute pleasure to host your family events and we are pleased to hear that they were truly memorable. It is very rewarding to hear that you enjoyed our service as well as the wedding cake and food stations on our special buffet menus. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the chef and entire Grill 41 team who will be happy to hear your positive feedback. Your comments are truly appreciated and continue to motivate our team towards our goals. We are looking forward to hosting you for many more memorable occasions in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Grill 41

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2015

The Elgin hotel has great ambience and character. Grill 41 has a more modern, yet still elegant feel. The menu is excellent, food is good as is the service. Although it is pricey.

1  Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saba F, Manager at Grill 41, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Dear Adrian O,

Thank you very much for taking the time and reviewing your visit at Grill 41 in the Lord Elgin Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our menu offerings as well as the service provided from our service team and ambiance from the hotel. We hope to have you back once again in the future for another great visit.

Kindest Regards,

Grill 41

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Excellent Cuisine and great service by professional and service oriented team in the pleasant atmosphere in downtown Ottawa.

3  Thank FrankVismeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saba F, Manager at Grill 41, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Dear FrankVismeg,

Thank you very much for such a nice review and sharing with us your dining experience at Grill 41. It is very rewarding hear you enjoyed our dining room offerings and that our service team provided you with quality service. Your comments are extremely appreciated and by reading your feedback we are happy to know that we have met our goals. We hope to be able to welcome you back once again for another spectacular visit.

Until next time,

Grill 41

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

First and foremost I would like to thank Sue for such a wonderful experience at grill 41. Sue, went above and beyond in offering a great hospitality experience. Not only will I go back to eat at this location I am definitely going to sleep at the Lord Elgin Hotel. I'm a very picky eater when comes to the food industry since I use to work in the hospitality as a kitchen and floor manager.
My Comments:
* Welcoming at the front entrance
* Food was great
* Service was great
* Very attentive to the clients need
* Gave options on the menu
* Explained to us about the service being offered in the restaurant and the hotel

I don't usually write reviews. This review I am solely doing for Sue. Your amazing/

Clinton, Montreal

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saba F, Manager at Grill 41, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2015

Dear CJ B,

Thank you very much for much for such a spectacular review and spending the time in sharing with us your experience at Grill 41. It is an absolute pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your service provided by Sue and that our menu offerings suited your taste. Your comments are absolutely wonderful and will continue to motivate our team. I will be sure to pass on your nice remarks to Sue and the rest of our team who will be happy to hear from you.

We hope to welcome you back for many more visits in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Grill 41

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Great place for a drink & appetizer but would skip the main dishes. There were 2 of us, service was great, food not so much- one had ribs that were good, huge rack but the sides boring & the other dish was the butternut squash ravioli- great flavor but barely warm & dry, like the pasta was kept under a warming lamp while ribs cooked, no sauce so very, very dry.

1  Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saba F, Manager at Grill 41, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Dear Jeff V,

Thank you very much for spending the time and sharing with us your experience at Grill 41. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and lounge service for appetizers and drinks.

It is our deepest regret to hear that you didn’t enjoy our butternut squash ravioli and pork ribs. We are very proud of all of our menu offerings and I can assure you that your experience is not to our standard. We sincerely apologize that you found our ravioli to be just warm and dry and the pork ribs sides to be inadequate. Would you be able to contact me directly? I can be reached at saba.farzadfar@sodexo.com. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience with us and rectify this situation immediately for you.

Kind Regards,

Grill 41

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill 41 also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Grill 41? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing