We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good hotel stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for the last weekend of Winterlude. We chose this hotel mainly for its larger rooms and its being pet-friendly. It's the only hotel that does not charge a pet fee! And since we always travel with our pet, this was a big plus.

We stayed in a room with 2 double beds, a sofa bed, and a kitchenette and we still had space to move around (we also had 2 kids with us). This was probably the cleanest and best-smelling pet-friendly room we have ever stayed in.

Front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. We did not have our room serviced because we had our dog in the room but housekeeping would phone us if we needed anything. Parking was a little tight but we always found an empty space easily. The elevators were a little slow but since we were on the 3rd floor, this was not a problem.

Winterlude was fun, specially the snowflake kingdom. Unfortunately, the mild winter weather kept the Rideau Canal Skateway closed the whole weekend we were there. Oh, well, maybe next year.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ottawa. It's also walking distance to a lot of the attractions Ottawa has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g0mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    108
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
60
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We purposefully looked for a room with a kitchenette as we were staying in Ottawa for a whole week. Apparently the Holiday Inn's definition of a kitchen and our's differ: what passes for a suite is a tiny countertop, a bar fridge (standard in any basic hotel room anyway), and a microwave. A cupboard contains pots and pans, but there's no stovetop or hotplate to cook with them. Unless we were to settle for a weeks' worth of microwaveable dinners (we weren't), the "suite" was a complete waste.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a 'kitchen' and not just a 'kitchenette.'
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed for three nights, not really blown away, but not disappointed in anything either. A really average place. Good location, a walk 15-20 minute walk to parliament hill, rideau centre, closer for rideau canal and a bit further for Byward Market. If you stayed in a Holiday Inn before, you'll get what you expect.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed in a 2 dbl bed w/ kitchenette room for 3 nights. We are a family of 5 with 3 children 3mos to 4yrs. The service was great and the room was very large with an additional pull out couch. We visited during the busy winterlude festival. We go to Ottawa a couple times of year to visit family and for events such as Canada Day and Winterlude.
The Rideau canal is just down the road about 5min walk. We walked to Parliament in 15min for the fireworks to kick off Winterlude. Ottawas City hall and Confederation Park are also a few minutes walk away.
The hotel is only 5min walk from Elgin street which has a number of places to eat.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krazeekanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The room was fine, the service was OK, but the only good thing about the location is the proximity of the Rideau Canal Skating rink. THe Hotel is less then 10 minutes (walk) away from the Canal. But the street on which it is located, is less than desirable. The building itself, looks like an older appartment building that was completely renovated. This is probably why the buildings on the same (Cooper) street are older, low end appartment buildings. Walking back from dinner on Bank street, and coming down Cooper street with young kids is not a great experience. I would say that it was dangerous, but not a "family" experience. One big Issue was the size of the parking lot. The hotel was fully booked that week-end, and there where no more parking spots left. Hat to go park elsewhere.

Room Tip: Corner room is a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 km away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.2 km away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#28 of 67 in Ottawa
277 reviews
0.9 km away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
227 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,133 - ₹ 12,588
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing