We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,264)
Filter reviews
1,264 results
Traveller rating
589
471
148
31
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
589
471
148
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the concierge lounge spin restaurant kent street teen room air hockey parliament hill corner room supreme court byward market self parking walking distance business trip king bed front desk staff bit dated the room was nice downtown core
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,264 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

The Ottawa Marriott on Kent is a solid, if somewhat anonymous and relatively unremarkable, hotel with decent rates in a great location to tour the vicinity of Parliament Hill.

Just a few blocks, and a lovely walk, along Wellington or through the Sparks Street pedestrian mall.

Rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable and staff were uniformly good (upbeat, attentive, prompt).

The lobby area and adjacent restaurant were nothing to write home about, and parking, while fairly priced, and with in/our privileges, is a bit of a hassle, via secondary elevator (and all the elevators seemed slow, often crammed).

There’s a decent sized indoor pool, and two well stocked activities rooms for kids (video games, toys for toddler up, board games, books) and teens (air hockey, ping pong, fooseball, shuffleboard a billiards table, as well as a basketball half court). Our kids, as well as my sons soccer teammates who were all staying there, also).

If you’re seeking something memorable, you’re better off at the historical Lord Elgin or Chateau Laurier, but if you just want convenient and ease without breaking the bank, Ottawa Marriott is a good option.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Richard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

It was a nice hotel, the location isn't ideal for a family, but they have a nice pool, staff is friendly and cooperative. The only issue we had was that we booked a room with a king size bed and got two double bed instead but they rectified the situation rapidly.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank christineservant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The stuff kept telling lies to us. And they gave away the luxury room I booked to someone else.I have to take the worst room for the night. I asked why, the only answer is stystem problems.. Never come again..

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank yihui25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, Rooms Operations Manager at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

We are terribly sorry about the confusion with your reservation and that our staff were not able to communicate effectively when attempting to work with you to resolve the issue. We were happy to know that our Front Office Manager was able to assist in correcting any issues, with you and the third party booking agent, but are disappointed that you left with this impression. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and we wish you a great day.
Beverly B
Rooms Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

I enjoyed a very good one night's stay at the Ottawa Marriott. Just slightly away from the heart of the city it's still a great location to base a vacation or business trip from. The rooms have been redone and I found mine to be very comfortable, clean and quiet (2634). Many of the rooms offer great views (though the views from the lounge on the 26th floor are amazing) and there are plenty of elevators so you don't have to wait long to grab one. I did find the price a little on the high side ($215) but it was comparable to other large hotels in the city centre. Check in was a snap (best to do it using Marriott's app before arriving) and the staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

The hotel states that it will “exceed your expectations with impeccable service as well as beautifully designed guest rooms”. This might have been true in the 1970s. The problem that it has probably never been updated since. It is tired and old. Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ithai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, Rooms Operations Manager at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Ottawa. We are terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with our service and hotel decor. We appreciate your feedback as we are committed to continuously improving our service and operations. We hope to have an opportunity to better your stay when you come back to Ottawa in the future.
Sincerely,
Beverly B
Rooms Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews