We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$ 121
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Priceline
US$ 121
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
ZenHotels.com
US$ 129
US$ 115
View deal
SAVE US$ 14
Expedia.comUS$ 121
Booking.comUS$ 121
StayForLongUS$ 129
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,894)
Filter reviews
1,894 results
Traveller rating
521
875
328
116
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
521
875
328
116
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rideau centre albion rooms byward market great location parliament hill renovated room breakfast buffet front desk staff walking distance king bed hotel restaurant decent hotel central location underground parking major attractions les suites national gallery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,894 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2020

We did not have a good experience with the room. The thermostat was not working and room was very cold. The shower door was broken. Having arrived a bit late after coming from a funeral we attended in Toronto, this was very inconvenient - It appears maintenance is not high o the list of things to do. Perhaps COVID-19 situation is in part to blame. After complaining about the issue we were given the key for another room. This room did not have the view the other room had (we were viewing some garbage containers and other rooms - One would think that after the hassle we went through - at least give us a better view or one similar de one we had. One thing though! The Staff! Very Friendly and professional.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achref Sassi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2020

Dear Debra,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and especially the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. However, I read your comment with great interest and I shared it with the concerned department heads to take the necessary measures. We extend our most sincere apologies for the frustrating impression you have received and actions will be taken immediately. Despite the details you mentioned above, I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at The Novotel Ottawa and be assured that we will do our utmost to make your next stay unforgettable.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

I’ve stayed here twice for business and I like the hotel. Nicely updated with larger rooms and bathrooms. Rooms also have fridges. They have a pool and fitness center but both were closed due to COVID. Very friendly service. Anything and everything you might ever need is located within walking distance including the large adjacent mall. Located right downtown but very quiet.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achref Sassi, Other at Novotel Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2020

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your wonderful feedback for The Novotel Ottawa and your kind words in relation to our hospitality and the service of our team. It gives us much happiness as it does you knowing that we are able to deliver upon all wishes. We always strive for excellence and we thank you for sharing your feedback.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location...beside Rideau Centre. About a 5 minute walk from Byward Market and 10 minutes from the Parliament buildings.

Hotel room was big, with a king-sized bed and a sitting area with a love seat. There was a fridge and coffee maker in the room.

The hotel was exception value for the cost. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Ottawa.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank WanderlustTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achref Sassi, Other at Novotel Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and especially the hotel's location and the room amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

My family chose to stay at the Novotel Ottawa base on a recommendation from my sister who has stayed there on several occasions.

At first we were impressed with the level of service and restricted access to the hotel. We felt safe.

Then we had an incident that changed that completely. We were waiting for the elevator to access our car, there is only one elevator that goes to the car park.

The doors opened and two men came out with masks slung under their chins. They had actually been in the elevator without protecting themselves and others from possible COVID infection. They had no disregard for the safety of others.

The small air space of an elevator makes it particularly dangerous if users do not wear a mask.

We attempted to communicate our concerns to no avail. They did not speak to the two men who later entered the lobby of the hotel and we pointed them out to the staff. Instead we were laughed at by the management and ridiculed saying 'we are not the mask police.'

I find it disheartening when we try to help local businesses during this difficult pandemic and take some element of risk in doing so. However, when there are clear shortcomings in the safety measures of your establishment it is your responsibility to look at ways to improve your safety system.

Our 77 year old father lives with us and we really can't take a chance on bringing COVID home. My mother just passed away from Leukemia and we have had enough tragedy for one year.

We have submitted our complaint to the city of Ottawa task force and we hope that their inquiry will force the hotel to take corrective action.

We will never again stay at any Novotel hotel after this experience.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChellGouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achref Sassi, Other at Novotel Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear ChellGouda,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa.
Allow me first to express my condolences for your loss.
Regarding the mask situation, I remember our interaction well.
Here at the Novotel Ottawa, along with our team, we have implemented a very strict COVID protocol to guarantee the safety of our guests, and of our employees.
As such it is indicated by posters at each entrance to the hotel, in the common areas as well in the elevators, that wearing a mask is mandatory and we ask each client to respect these rules, which we adhere to every day.
After being very thorough with my teams' protocol on mask requirement, I was going to intervene the problematic guests on behalf of those affected, however they had already left, and as such the point became null.
Unfortunately, as I calmly attempted to communicate our concerns, you yourself took off your mask twice to elaborate frustrations.
There is no doubt that we take the safety of our guests and our team very seriously.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Novotel Ottawa.
Kind regards

Vincent Galoche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020

Loved the clean modern and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Ottawa. We enjoyed visiting the local sites, especially the parliament buidings. It is close to the nice restaurants that we dined at so that we could leave our car parked in the building.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandnhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raman Virk, Other at Novotel Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Dear Mandnhamilton,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay due to the hotel's location and cleanliness.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Achref Sassi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews