We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable well-located boutique hotel with lots of welcome touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Affordable well-located boutique hotel with lots of welcome touches”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Clean, comfortable and well-designed boutique hotel with nice touches (good linens and toiletries, excellent lighting, lots of towels, bubbly on arrival, chocolates, prettily bagged apple at bedtime, paper in the morning). Extensive in-room dining options, including a generous Continental breakfast. I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
ARC The.Hotel is thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a recommendation of our property and we do hope that you will return on your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    425
    173
    82
    32
See reviews for
111
440
94
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a long weekend. I am an avid boutique-hotel goer and avoid the big chains when I can. This hotel gives the impression that it is a boutique hotel, sadly, it is not.

Pros:
Good location
VERY comfortable bed by any standard

Cons:
Room is very poorly light. You can't see anything
Room is tiny (less than 250sq feet)
Bathroom is not very large
They charge $10 per day PER device for Wifi (most boutique hotels don't charge for this)
Staff is indifferent, not warm or friendly at all
AC is extremely loud, make the comfortable bed useless and the noise will be annoying
Front desk staff is unpleasant. (i.e. when you come in, they look at you, but nobody greets you)

Overall, this is not a 4-star boutique hotel. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WldTrvlrmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will be sure to share your comments with my guest services team. I would also like to advise that our WiFi includes up to 8 devices per room. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed 19 - 20 May. While the room was fairly trendy, it was incredibly small and everything seemed old and worn (which was odd considering the modern look). The AC was very loud as well. The parking is expensive, but this is something that you should be prepared for in Ottawa. The green apple was a nice touch and the soaps and shampoo in the room are definitely high end. The towels were pretty plush and the bedding felt new (although the AC was insanely loud). My room was an adjoining room (with a door) and you could hear EVERYTHING from the room next door (and I am sure they could hear from my room as well.

All in all, not a horrible stay, but definitely not a 4 star hotel and I'm not staying there again. There are way too many other options to stay somewhere like that again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
While we are delighted to hear that your overall stay was to your satisfaction we would like to offer our sincerest apologies for teh volume of the air conditioning. Ottawa has been experiencing an exceptionally hot summer and these systems have been working hard to maintain a comfortable environment for our guests. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences and we do hope that this will not prevent you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I booked this hotel using Booking.com and I couldn't have been happier. The room was not that large but the bed was too die for!!! So comfortable. We met some other guests in the elevator and the first thing they said was how lovely the bed was. The staff were fantastic and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job, also very friendly too. It's about a ten minute walk down to the Byward Market area, where we had fantastic Tapas at Play, not bad prices also. the next evening we went to Victoria Trattoria also excellent. The Black Thorn Cafe does a lovely brunch and the staff are very friendly. Lovely patio for people watching, or as my husband did, car watching!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room away from the elevators and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of ARC The.Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our unbeatable location in Downtown Ottawa. We will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed at the hotel June 26 - 28. The parking is terrible with very little spots out front of the hotel. The room was very small and the AC sounded like a Jet. The amenities in the room didn't work (ie) alarm clock, weight scale, coffee maker

Another problem was the internet provided in the lounge. If there is a private function going on you're unable to use the internet until the event is over. Why have the internet located there, if its restricted during functions?

I brought my concerns up with the front desk and was offered to switch rooms for the last night of the stay (declined as it was already late and didn't want to move everything for a night) Offered free breakfast, but wasn't up early enough to use (limited hours for breakfast) I was told I could speak with a manager in the morning and see if they could do more. To my surprise I was told she was in meetings all day, however, she was right behind the front desk in the room booking reservations. She eventually came out and spoke to me and frown upon me as I booked with a 3rd party side (priceline) and her hands were tied as if they offered me a nights free of valet parking they would lose money by having me as a guest.

I will never stay at this hotel again. No way this is a 4 star hotel. Spend the extra money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Scott4star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Feedback is always welcome at ARC The.Hotel. We will do whatever it takes to provide our guests with a wonderful hotel experience and to immediately correct any shortcomings that may occur. We apologize that we did not provide you with a free night stay in spite of your threats to post a negative review on this forum unless we did so. Trip advisor is a forum for honest reviews (positive and negative) not a weapon to be used for personal gain.

For the benefit of current and future guests, ARC The.Hotel provides both wireless and hard wired internet access throughout the hotel; access is always available regardless of the functions that are taking place through the day. As well the amenities detailed as not functioning in this review were checked and found to be fully functional the same day that they were reported.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#16 of 67 in Ottawa
184 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
702 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
957 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
The Metcalfe Hotel
#19 of 67 in Ottawa
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Property: ARC The Hotel
Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,025 - ₹ 21,721
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing