We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
ByWard Blue Inn(Ottawa)
US$ 243
US$ 166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lord Elgin(Ottawa)
US$ 197
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 234
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$ 200
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 170
US$ 156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 175
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Business Inn & Suites(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 151
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 189
US$ 122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Adam's Airport Inn(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
56
21
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
21
3
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsliving areacommon roombyward marketparliament hillmajor attractionsenjoyed my stayhome away from homedowntown ottawasupermarketshowermicrowavecleanlinessreceptionistcomfort
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

After weeks of staying in busy and crowded hostels, this was a really nice break. The hostel only sleeps 16 people, so it was nice and calm most of the time. The rooms were very nice and colourful, and the bathroom was super nice too. There isn't anywhere to cook food but there is a fridge as well as free tea and coffee.
The hostel almost felt more like a nice house than a hostel. The living area was very cozy. It's also a short walk to the Parliament Buildings. Our only complaint is that there are only 2 showers. With 16 people staying, it got very hard to actually use the shower! But besides that, we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Caribby96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina S, Owner at Barefoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

We are very happy that you found your stay with us relaxing amidst your travels! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

The hostel is very clean. The bedding and towels are fantastic.

There's a wait for the bathrooms during g peak times, and the rooms can get a little too warm. There's also a lack of space to put bags and stuff. I'm here for almost two weeks, and I wish there was laundry facilities.

There are some homeless people around the area, but actually, these people are friendly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina S, Owner at Barefoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for leaving us the review! We do not offer laundry facilities, but there are some local ones that aren't too far away (Market Cleaners is right on Dalhousie, a few blocks away). We certainly hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The common room space is great, the quad bunk beds are comfortable but the room is very small. There is no air conditioning and that can be uncomfortable when sharing such close quarters. The parking in the area is abundant. I was lucky to get a spot on the lot for $12. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The kitchen was well stocked. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wanderwoman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina S, Owner at Barefoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for leaving us this review! It is true that we do not have air conditioning in the rooms (all of which have fans and windows that open), but our common areas are air conditioned. We certainly hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Although this advertises as air conditioned, ONLY the downstairs has air conditioning, NOT the rooms. The rooms are small, with people packed in close and it was so so hot inside at night (and not even that warm outside). No one could sleep that night-- we were all discussing it.

I spent 1/3 nights there and asked to leave/for a refund. The lady there refused, citing their 48 h cancellation policy; I noted the serious misrepresentation of the hostel's amenities.

The lady told us we need to keep the window open and run some fans -- case in point, clearly not air conditioned.

I left, lost my money, will be complaining to every official service I can until this is resolved to my satisfaction.

Poor customer service, material misrepresentation of the hostel (in my opinion).

Also, failure to make easy, reasonable accommodations for a physical disability.

Room Tip: Rooms NOT air conditioned
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 236eri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Sittingroom, kitchen, backyard garden, downtown Ottawa.
I stayed for ten night in a four bed dorm. Very clean, cosy, and cheap. I felt safe and comfortable.
A perfect accommondation for single women travelling on budget!
Sorry that some girls has the habit of spending hours (in front of the mirror?) occupying the the (two) bathrooms, so others can not get in there.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina S, Owner at Barefoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you so much for leaving us this review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews