We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience ByWard Market
from US$ 31.93
More Info
from US$ 36.73
More Info
from US$ 74.74
More Info
from US$ 38.37
More Info
Reviews (4,956)
Filter reviews
4,956 results
Traveller rating
2,397
1,806
591
118
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,397
1,806
591
118
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh produce maple syrup street performers lots of restaurants beaver tail great area walk around tacos rideau centre great place to visit downtown ottawa parliament hill vendors pubs vegetables obama clothing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,075 - 4,080 of 4,956 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Plenty of shopping with something for everyone and restaurants for every taste bud. You've got to leave room for desert at the wonderful pastry shop!
Lots of entertainment at every street corner

Date of experience: June 2011
Thank NewBrunswickDraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Byward market is a must visit if you're in Ottawa. Great restaurants (lots of selection!), great little stores and a large mall, fantastic atmosphere with street performers, and great little markets. You could easily spend the entire day here (less likely if you have kids - although there's lots to keep them interested) but I recommend that if you're going for the markets that you visit before noon and if you're going to look around or to have dinner go in the late afternoon/early evening - the place seems to have this magic when the sun's going down. Parking is tricky here but there's lots of options including a decent parking garage that isn't too expensive. The market is also a short walk to other major attractions and sight seeing stops so if it's a nice day it would be wise to park at the Market and venture out from there.

Date of experience: August 2010
1  Thank B-l-a-i-r_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Byward market is a must visit if you're in Ottawa. Great restaurants (lots of selection!), great little stores and a large mall, fantastic atmosphere with street performers, and great little markets. You could easily spend the entire day here (less likely if you have kids - although there's lots to keep them interested) but I recommend that if you're going for the markets that you visit before noon and if you're going to look around or to have dinner go in the late afternoon/early evening - the place seems to have this magic when the sun's going down. Parking is tricky here but there's lots of options including a decent parking garage that isn't too expensive. The market is also a short walk to other major attractions and sight seeing stops so if it's a nice day it would be wise to park at the Market and venture out from there.

Date of experience: August 2010
3  Thank B-l-a-i-r_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We wanted to show our Belgian family Ottawa and the ByWard Market was the perfect place to start. We went to eat at the Heart and Crown Irish Pub which was DELICIOUS! service was quick and friendly and they were very accommodating when our party of 13 asked to change our table for one in the shade. Our choices ranged from fish and chips - a must!! either with sweet potato fries or regular fries, Cajun chicken, soups and club sandwich. There was a good selection of imported and domestic beers. The only issue we did have is that...a soup is served hot and a gazpacho is served cold...so the girls were not impressed to have cold soup. Even though it was minor, it should be something they should correct or at least tell the person that it will be served cold. Overall it's a great place to go!

Beavertails - well..what can I say....they were in shock when they heard in Europe that Canadians eat Beavers! lol so we milked this one all we could until we got to the beaver tails and they loved it!!!! everyone got a piece of tail haha too bad they are so much smaller than I remember...another victim of the recession I presume.

Public toilets was a bone of contention for us...come on!! get with it! in Old Quebec there are public toilets... It would be a great idea!! honestly....

We went to Planet Coffee and Le Moulin De Provence (where the famous Obama cookie is made and if you didn't know it...you would once seeing the HUGE poster about it) I had a black coffee at Planet Coffee and an almond Biscotti...delicious....but no air con and it was hot!

Le Moulin de Provence is open air...so find a parasol. Great coffee, good cookies...BUT the door to the toilet was closed because it's really not their toilets..but the buildings...and as Ottawa closes it's doors and rolls up the carpets at 6pm every Sunday (?!?!) no use of the toilet...but hey...just run down the road to the Macdonald's.... we were told by the young lady. Not impressed.....at all especially after spending $50! so Public toilets is a must!

I had never remembered seeing so many homeless there.....sad...

lots of great vendors and buskers!

Overall...it's a fabulous place to start off or end off a tour of Ottawa....you're so close to the Parliament Buildings and other sites....very central...

if you can find free parking on the street....you're so in luck..if not go to York or George Street and pay for the indoor parking. $13.00 fee for the day on Weekends and much cheaper than paying to get your car back after it has been towed! Ottawa is notorious for towing!!

Date of experience: July 2011
4  Thank pinamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This area is very busy and full of life and worth wandering through to see locals purchasing their fresh produce - fruit, fish, cheese, etc. We stopped for a beer and to watch the world go by. Worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2011
1  Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews