We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is NOT a conference centre” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is NOT a conference centre”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Incompetent conference staff who are not on-site and apparently do not understand the requirements of a meeting or conference. Inattention to details and miscommunication between and amongst staff members leave clients confused or panicky. When they screwed up and were unable to provide something that was essential to our meeting, they seemed content to leave a phone message the afternoon before simply telling us that it would not be possible. As we were out of the office, en route to the site, we did not find out until we arrived at the venue. We had booked the space more than 2 months prior. No apologies, no attemp to find a solution. Completely unacceptable. We did not book any of the hotel rooms so are unable to comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkyboxTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    70
    58
    33
    20
See reviews for
68
60
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here for a wedding as the reception was here and this is where the guests were staying. Apon our arrival we get our room and the musty smell is more than i can bear. We are informed at the desk that there are no other avaiable rooms. Which explains why i did not get the king bed i ordered. I go to do my hair and the blow dryer is not working so i bring it to the desk and they assure me they will replace it with a working dryer which i didnt get the 4 days i was there. All night i could hear doors slamming in the halls. I did comp a free night for my troubles which was nice but the smell was so bad i wouldnt return anyways. At least the wedding was allright although it wouldnt be my choice of places thats for sure

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashleynderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTTAWA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stay at this hotel often as I am commuting between Ott and Tor. Always friendly staff, clean room, great rates and the complimentary breakfast is a bonus. This hotel is conveniently located right off the 401, good old Stevenson exit.

The rooms in the low 200's are awesome (behind front desk). Office desk, couch, mini fridge and very spacious. If you are looking for a great hotel and very competitively priced- this BW Durham is a sure bet.

Room Tip: Rooms behind from desk (e.g 202) are huge with office desk, couch,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We requested a non-smoking room but were given a room that smelled from decades of stale smoke. Even walking through the hallway in the smoking section made it difficult to breath. After waiting and insisting, we were able to get a non-smoking room in a non-smoking section of the hotel.


This hotel is at least 40 years old. There are many bulges in the walls caused by concrete spalling. The furniture in the room was at least 20 years old. If you just want a cheap place to sleep and can get the place for less than $70 it is a fair value, but if you are sensitive to smoke, make sure you get a non-smoking room in a non-smoking part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Wide spread smoke smell in non-smoking areas of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nepean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oshawa hotels

Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I booked into the Best Western Durham Hotel and Conference Centre not knowing what and which hotels/motels were good in this region.

From day one, they are kind, courtious and extremely helpful! They made me feel at home during a very confusing relocation to this area. The rooms were always clean and the services were beyond expectations. The rooms were being re-done and only once did I have a room that was not up to their usual standards. Although the room was in disrepair, it was sparklng clean - that is what truly counts! I wish to thank the General Manager and all of the employees who went out of their way to make my stay(s) great.

Rod Lightheart

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor - they are newer and closer to the front desk - also earier with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 559 Bloor Street W, Oshawa, Ontario L1J 5Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,516 - ₹ 10,013
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Oshawa
Oshawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing