We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Oshawa Whitby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Howell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Holiday Inn was booked and I had to find a place to stay. I ended up at the Travelodge in Whitby. I was pleasantly surprised the lobby area was nice and the staff was very friendly. The room was cleaned and furniture was up to date. A DVD players was in the room allowing to either rent a movie downstairs for just a few bucks or bring a movie from home. (Instead of paying $15 dollars for on demand movies at other places). Good place at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickN3250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    226
    132
    56
    59
See reviews for
240
112
45
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is great value for the price. It's clean, close to restaurants, shopping and Hwy 401. The staff are very courteous and helpful and the included breakfast offers a good variety of food and beverages. Definitely worth checking out if you're in town on business.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giant1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

This is a decent place to stay at on a business trip. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast selection was quite good for this kind of business hotel. The service was friendly and efficient.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank capricorn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I am a business traveller and I don't often stay at Travelodge because they can be inconsistent in quality. However, this one is as good as any Courtyard or Hampton Hotel and better than some. Clean, tidy and seemed to be recently updated. The hotel is very well priced compared to similar hotels in the area. The only thing I'd add is rapid check-out, ie getting my invoice under the door.

Room Tip: Ground floor is really close to parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at the Travelodge Oshawa-Whitby for the weekend recently for a sporting event. Don't take what is available on the web at face value when booking .... call the reservation centre (or better yet, the hotel directly) to find out what rooms are really available.

Booked a queen bed and pull out couch. Bedding for pull out was in the top of the closet. Room was clean and in good repair. Bed was soft and comfortable with plenty of pillows. Flat screen TV, microwave and minifridge. Liquid hand soap in bathroom -- such a small thing but I LOVE this as I hate bar soap -- and a decent amount of towels, etc. Water pressure and temperature was good.

Had to print out some paperwork late one evening and used the small business centre adjacent to the lobby. There are two computers and two printers, paper was already laying out etc. Worked great. WiFi is also free and strength in our third floor room was acceptable.

Breakfast is adequate .... hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, bagels, juice, etc. No complaints there. I didn't use the pool but others in my party did and the kids seemed to enjoy it. It is salt water.

This hotel seems to actually "get it" when it comes to noise. A hockey team checking in had to sign a contract agreeing that if noise complaints were received about them, they would be charged a $100 fine per room. Subsequently the hotel was fairly quiet. On Friday night there were some loud folks walking up and down the hall (in all fairness, they were probably speaking a normal level but doors are very thin) but all quieted down by midnight. On Saturday night I didn't hear a peep.

The only noise I would question ... I think there must be some sort of a nightclub nearby as both nights the music was quite loud and the bass could be heard in our room. We turned on the wall-mounted heating/AC unit and the fan masked the sound of the bass.

There are plenty of shopping and dining options nearby, including the Oshawa Centre Mall.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay and would select this hotel if staying in the area again. It is about a 10 minute drive from Durham College.

Room Tip: Call to ask what is available, don't go by the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vespa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites
#3 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Residence Inn Whitby
#1 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Oshawa Whitby? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Oshawa Whitby

Property: Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Address: 940 Champlain Ave, Oshawa, Ontario L1J 7A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa > Vanier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,318 - ₹ 6,191
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Oshawa Whitby 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Oshawa Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby Hotel Oshawa
Whitby Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Oshawa
Oshawa Travel Lodge
Oshawa Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing