We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Was Just Awful”
Review of Hob Nob Restaurant

Hob Nob Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hob Nob Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 45
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This place was, until recently, one of our favorites. Yesterday was one of our worst dining experiences in an 'upmarket restaurant'. Here's a list of tips that management may want to implement for the dining room. 1. Update the menu. There appears to be little to choose from, especially some of the old favorites. We even asked for a bar menu. 2. When serving cocktails, they should be garnished appropriately. I guess the bar was too busy or does not know how to garnish double digit priced cocktails. 3. Bread should be baked far enough in advance so that customers do not have to wait 45 minutes for it. Drinks should be delivered quickly. Especially if the kitchen is very slow, and it was. 4. Starters should be warm and fresh. The pea soup was a "runny broth like consistency" with only a blob of cream as a garnish. No bacon, ham or anything else and it was barely warm. The second starter was pork belly and shrimp. Management may wish to consider a larger piece of pork and not overcook/precook and either add a meaningful shrimp or simply exclude it. (I vote to exclude) 5. Please increase the size of the lobster tail in the lobster gnocchi. It was tasty but difficult to find. 6. Take the pork tenderloin off the menu. It is precooked, tough and inedible. The cassoulet was simply raw white beans and some tomato paste. 7. If service is going to be bad, please let people know. Simply stating that it is "burger nite" in the lounge is not a good reason for terribly slow service from the kitchen. We spent $100 per person for a birthday dinner I would sooner forget. We even skipped dessert. Sorry, but we will not be back to Hob Nob. There are too many good restaurants in town. Our waitress was terrific. She tried very hard to cover for poor management and chef

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TOM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you TOM V for your recent review. We value all feedback, even when it isn't the most positive. I was disappointed to hear that this visit didn't live up to your expectations. As you can see and as you have experienced this is not the standard.

Unfortunately Thursday night we only had your reservation for dinner, this is not out of the ordinary in the off season, however with pub night at The HobNob on Thursdays we were fortunate to have a larger team on the floor. I can assure you if we could have predicted a busy night like this in April, we would have been more prepared. I will share your feedback on the menu with Chef and the team, so that we may improve.

I have had the pleasure serving you at both Zees and HobNob and on behalf of my entire team we would like the opportunity to invite you back to HobNob for the experience that we are known for and that you have previously experienced.

I have reached out to you personally on TripAdvisor and look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Peggy Jo Wills
HobNob Restaurant in The Charles Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

We enjoyed dinner at Hob Nob several times over the winter in both the main dining room and the bar area and really enjoyed the friendly and professional servers and excellent food. The bar area is especially enjoyable for more casual dinners. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 831scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

We have been to Hob Nob three times in the past couple of months. Each and every time it has been a wonderful experience!

We went once for lunch during Fabulicious, once for a "dinner date" and once with friends to the lounge. Always spectacular!

We received a warm welcome each time and the service was always leisurely and we never felt rushed. The food was first class...from the arctic char to the lamb poutine to the pork belly, everything was simply exemplary.

We will be back!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you Paul S for dining with us and the awesome review. I was happy to see that you enjoyed everyone of your experiences, from the lounge to the Dining Room and that the food and service lived up to your expectations. There is no better date night out than The Charles and The HobNob.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warmest Regards,

Peggy Jo Wills
Restaurant Manager
HobNob Restaurant in The Charles Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Eleven of us enjoyed a superb meal at Hob Nob to celebrate my in-law's 50th anniversary. The food was sumptuous and the service was very attentive and of top quality. The chef's amuse bouche and complimentary ice wine were a pleasant surprise, and a great time was had by all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you Brent M for choosing the Charles Hotel and HobNob Restaurant for your special occasion celebration. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. It will be my pleasure to share this awesome feedback with our team.

We hope you will have the chance to visit us again.

Warmest Regards,

Peggy Jo Wills
Restaurant Manager
HobNob Restaurant in The Charles Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Just can't say enough. We both have culinary background and have high standards. I had the duck and my wife had the pork belly. Both were cooked, seasoned, presented with perfection. Waitress was very attentive without hovering. If you like historic home setting this is the place for you. Two large gas fireplaces which are nice to sit near in the winter months.
We stayed at the Harbour House. They have a shuttle that will take you to and from the Hob Nob almost whenever you want. Very nice if you want a romantic evening without driving ;+).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you Monty M for the recent review and for choosing HobNob. I was happy to hear that you and your wife both enjoyed your dishes and that the experience lived up to your expectations. I agree, The Charles Hotel is such an amazing building and has that special feel for a romantic night out. I am glad you enjoyed the Harbour House and your time in Niagara on the Lake.

We look forward to welcoming you back.



Warmest Regards,

Peggy Jo Wills
Restaurant Manager
HobNob Restaurant in The Charles Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hob Nob Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Hob Nob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing