We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only two nights, but we wish we could've stayed longer at John's Gate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only two nights, but we wish we could've stayed longer at John's Gate”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We arrived at John's Gate Gourmet Bed & Breakfast after a long drive, made a bit longer by the fact that we used our GPS to find it, when we should've used the directions she had emailed us, but we forgot about them. Our first plan was to visit Niagara Falls, and Meheroo gave us directions via the Scenic Route, which I highly recommend...rather than highway. It was too chilly for us to rent bikes and ride around Niagara-on-the-Lake, but I was glad it was a possibility, because I'd love to return and ride a bike everywhere. It is a very bike-friendly area.

Our room was upstairs, as are the two other rooms at John's Gate. House slippers are provided each guest, and so there's a shoe removal "station" at the bottom of the stairs, which is right inside the front door. There's a spacious porch on two sides of the house, with comfortable seating, and in the next couple of weeks, lots of pots of flowering plants will beautify it even more.

We had a bright corner room: windows on two sides. There is adequate lighting, and unlike the two hotels we stayed at on this trip prior to John's Gate, all the lights worked. The bathroom is also well-lit, both by the window, and the lighting. The stairs and upper landing have motion-activated lighting. I appreciate this - it means no light bleed around the edges of the door (from a hall light left on all night), disturbing my sleep. I would prefer a darker room, though, for sleeping, i.e. opaque shades vs the mini-blinds.

Everything was extremely clean. The towels were wonderful.
The breakfast was as gourmet and delicious as can be. Meheroo is definitely on top of the trends there! And she gave my husband (who is 6'4") an extra helping. There is an inviting seating area in front of a gas log fireplace, which she turned on at my request one cold evening, explaining how to operate it, so we could turn it on and off.

Our hostess was warm & helpful. She has furnished her B & B (built in 1999, but in character with the 100+-year-old homes in the neighborhood) with antiques and comfortable reproductions. Her large wood dining table was always set with place mats and chargers and a large vase of fresh flowers - a visual feast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyTheCatholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    25
    9
    10
    12
See reviews for
29
220
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I spend a weekend at John's gate this past April. We coudn't have asked for more, the rooms were extreamly clean and bright. Our host Meheroo was so nice, and so helpful (she inquired about our bike rentals and even made our restaurant reservations for us) And the breakfast is really something special. We were given a three course breakfast meal, all home cooked and so so delicious. We would deffinelty go back there, we absolutly loved our experince!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMontreal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at John's Gate (April 26th) while we were visiting Niagara on the Lake to see a show. We were extremely happy with the courteous service, clean surroundings and fabulous morning breakfast. Our room was sunny and bright and it was a pleasant walk into town from John's Gate. Right down the street from The Pillar and Post, where we enjoyed a lovely dinner. For my husband Gary and I it was a perfect getaway from Buffalo for the night. Nancy

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The owner/operator of this B&B "Meheroo" was absolutely amazing! My girlfriend and I stayed there for a night during the second week of March 2012. Our needs were tended to with great care especially breakfast. Me being the picky one when it comes to food was very quickly presented with an alternative breakfast which turned out to be fantastic, especially the homemade blueberry sauce! The room was picture perfect and very clean which is definitely important when spending the night away from the comfort of your own bed. Was very nice to know that during our stay we had unlimited and complimentary WIFI which came in handy when relaxing in the evening while watching NETFLIX on my trusty iPhone.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone that is planning to spend a few days in Niagara on the Lake. Not only do you have the pleasure of all that I have mentioned above but she, the owner will also arrange a package for you. For us, it was the shuttled wine tour with dinner included and it was perfect!

We shall return! :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sblander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

A very clean and attractive B&B. Highly recommend it! Host was friendly, helpful and prepared a wonderful breakfeast. Worth staying there just for the food!
I would always come back - keep a winner when you find one!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 km away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#73 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
26 reviews
0.3 km away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
415 reviews
0.2 km away
Via Veneto
Via Veneto
#35 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
240 reviews
0.3 km away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
317 reviews
0.5 km away
Graystone Bed and Breakfast
Graystone Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Property: John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 John Street West | Box 1156, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,623 - ₹ 10,550
Hotel Class:3 star — John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinner/Theatre Packages, Wine Tours and Seniors' Specials offered monthly. Custom-built pre-Victorian style bed and breakfast, centrally located 1km from Niagara-on-the-Lake's Queen Street shopping, restaurants and Shaw Festival theatres. Next to the world-class Spa at the Pillar and Post Inn. Private entrance, dining room and guest parlour. All the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing