We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable hotel!”
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

A 'sister's' get away, with an overnight at the Shaw Club.
This was a wonderful experience. We booked the 'petite room' as it was the only room left in the hotel, booking online.
It was completely adequate, we did not fine it small. There where two queen beds, good space between beds, complete bathroom with plenty of room, a comfy chair to relax and large flat screen TV. It was perfect for us. It was clean, and very comfortable beds.
We also had a very good nightly rate.

Breakfast is not included in the price, and I think buying it prior to your visit, online is a plus. It cost $14. Each person, and included what was on the menu, under 'favorites', they are all full breakfasts. If you pay directly at the hotel, it will cost more.

We ate in the dining room, on the terrace in the eve. It was a bit pricey but excellent food, good service, and very relaxing.
The breakfast selection is from a menu and was also excellent, varied selection, and just what you need to start the day off right.

The staff where so polite, and hospitable. This includes the front desk staff to the housekeeping. The greatest thing was that I left my phone plugged in on the floor, and forgot it in the room. The housekeeping personnel gave it to the front desk and they called my sister at her home to tell us it was there. I was so relieved to find it! So much important info on that phone. I was able to retrieve it and was very happy. Thank you housekeeper!! And thanks to the manager, and front desk staff, for informing us! You are all a great team!

THANK YOU Shaw Club, for making my sister and I's visit so memorable. I do not live in Canada at this time, and the memories we share are what holds her close to me until we meet again, hopefully next year at the Shaw Club!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank MaryEllen000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear "MaryEllen000", thank you for the wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and your sister and so glad we were able to reunite you with your cellphone!! I will make sure to pass along your thanks to our team and we look forward to welcoming you both back next year!!


Jennifer Dickson
Guest Services Manager
Shaw Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

20 - 24 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Another quick getaway to the Shaw Club and again, a lovely experience. The hotel is absolutely spotless - staff at check-in make you feel like valued guests. It's been a few years since we've been back (and ten years since our last review!) but everything met our expectations.The main building was completely sold out this time and we stayed in the Annex - given a choice, we would prefer the main building in future. Although the rooms are nicely done, we didn't find the bed as comfortable in this room and there is quite a flight of stairs to deal with - definately not for anyone with mobility issues, although they make this plain on the website and in making your reservation. We opted for dinner at the Hobnob (Charles Hotel) and the very friendly shuttle driver took us over. Dinner was wonderful - we had the three course special - service was attentive, friendly and efficient (thank you Sean!) and we would certainly return. Breakfast (included in the room rate) was on the verandah the next morning and our server was friendly and efficient - the food was fantastic. The weather has been perfect this past week and we thoroughly enjoyed a leisurely meal in the warm morning air surrounded by absolutely gorgeous flowers and plants.
If you are looking for a great hotel - outstanding staff and food at a reasonable price, this is the place!

Room Tip: I would recommend the main building over the Annex if accomodation is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Wonderful staff. from the time we checked in, we were greeted by our name. We were so pleased with their treatment of us,, as if we were the only guests they had. As it was our 50th anniversary and our daughter informed them of this, they had a bottle of wine awaiting us in our room. The king bed was extremely comfortable and the a/c worked very well. Everything was top notch. The only thing which I found strange was the shower which was just slightly raised from the bathroom floor and as a result, water from the rain shower head and the hand held shower had a tendency to go on the bathroom floor despite the drainage.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank bardi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I had booked three rooms for our group of six people. Each of the rooms was slightly different from the others but well appointed and comfortable. The in-room Keurig machine and welcome brownie were nice touches. The staff are terrific - extremely friendly and helpful, which made our stay at the hotel even more enjoyable. One afternoon after our excursion to Niagara Falls and a winery we were able to enjoy a bit of private time in a lounge area adjacent to the lobby. We brought our wine, ordered a cheese plate and the staff provided us with wine glasses. The hotel is well located across the street from the Festival Theatre and an easy walk to the centre of NotL. For those who are not able to walk the short distance to the shops and restaurants on Queen Street, there is shuttle bus with a charming driver.
We all enjoyed our time in NotL and particularly at the Shaw Club and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We were able to secure a good price on the room, which is why we stayed here. The room was very small and would not have been worth full price. Having said that, the room was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. Located right across the street from the Festival Theater. They also offer a shuttle to locations in the downtown area so you don't have to drive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,253 reviews
0.7 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
509 reviews
0.3 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,621 reviews
0.9 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,195 reviews
0.8 km away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: ₹ 7,469 - ₹ 21,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing