We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaw Club”
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Spent a few days at Shaw Club while a few friends and I explored the wineries. The room was nice, and having a balcony to sit out on and end the day with a glass of wine was nice as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 682 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Shaw Club for three nights in early August in the famous "Annex King".
After reading reviews we were well aware of what to expect with the room, meaning that it isn't attached to the main hotel and the rooms are not as nice. This is all true, but not what made us unhappy with our stay, it was there so called famous service. From our check in which was cold and rude, to simple questions we found as we were bothering the front office staff. After reading previous reviews this is not the first time this has happened, but the hotel always responds as expected with a differring view. I received this treatment upon checkout, instead of resolving the problem the front office manager tended to disagree with me and pretty much called me a liar. I hate dealing with anybody at hotels and restaurants who act stuck up but in all essence just work at a hotel. We the customer are the ones paying the big bucks to stay at these expensive hotels.
With no reservations on our last night we decided to eat at Zee's. We went down at 7:15 pm to eat and the restaurant was half empty. We were told we couldn't have a table until 8:00 pm because they had been very busy before the show at the festival and needed a break. I have never heard of this before and told the hostess we were guests of the hotel. She told us to hold on and she would check with the manager. She quickly came back with a no, when I asked to speak with the manager I was told they were too busy. This was no surprise and it was a continuation of the terrible service and rude attitude we received most of our stay. In closing stay away from this hotel as the service is terrible and not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jtga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

I would like to apologize to you if you believe your service was not up to our normal standards, especially considering the girl who checked you in is always one of the very best when it comes to guest service and satisfaction. I was a little disappointed to see your reference to other reviews that mention this poor service as our reviews continuously mention the exceptional service they receive while with us. Perhaps you were reading reviews from another hotel? I am also sorry that we were not able to accommodate you earlier than your 8pm reservation at Zees. It is confusing some times when the restaurant doesn't look full yet you are being told that they are too busy to seat you early. The reason for this is because you arrived just as our first seating was finishing but before the 7:30 reservations had arrived. This will often make the restaurant appear less busy even though the next wave of reservations is just about to arrive. Unfortunately, if we were to have given you one of the empty tables then we would not have been able to accommodate our reserved guests. Thank you again for your feedback and I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We celebrated our 29 th anniversary this past Sunday with a wonderful stay with our friends.The rooms were very modern and comfortable. The staff at check in and the restaurants were great. My wife and her friend really enjoyed their vivit to the spa
A wonderful complimentary gift was waiting for us in our room when we arrived and every one made us feel welcome during our stay. We definitely will be returning for another stay.
Beth & Jim

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Had a 1 night stay in a room on the ground floor of the main building....so convenient to just pop over to the lounge (tv, magazines, dvds, board games, Keurig coffee machine, computer/printer station) or restaurant (Zees). We were walked to our room when we arrived which was such a nice touch and then given a tasty brownie and spa gift (as part of the Blissful Stay package). A card and paper with your name is also left for you. Great king sized bed, reading area and couch. Huge TV but unfortunately the DVD player didn't work....usually you can just walk over to the lounge to borrow a DVD from their library which is a great idea. The bathroom was gorgeous and the shower was incredible....rain shower and hand-held. A tv in the bathroom too!!! The attached restaurant (Zees) had great food and the outdoor patio /veranda created a gorgeous atmosphere...enjoyed dinner the night we arrived (2 appetitzers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts with our package), continental breakfast (yogurt with homemade granola and berries, blueberry scone, multigrain toast and jam) and lunch. Very convenient location of the hotel across the street from the Shaw festival and walking distance to all the NOTL shops/restaurants and lake. Had a couples massage at the Shaw Spa which was so relaxing and had great customer service at reception! Had a late checkout of 1pm which really made the 1 night stay feel longer (otherwise checkout is 11am). Really pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms near reception very convenient to pop over to lounge or restaurant. Water / ice...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank relaxerseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Overall impression of my 2 night stay at The Shaw Hotel and Spa is possitive. The staff in every department ( guest services, housekeeping, the restaurant and spa services) all met or exceeded my expectations. Customer service is clearly on the forefront.
The Spa is simple and unadorned, but the quality of the services are top notch.
I did not have any full meals at Zee's, but enjoyed the view and atmosphere of the veranda for breakfast and a night cap.
As a yearly visiter to NOTL, I mostly like that it is a scerene and enjoyable place to stay, without the tourist-y feel of the bigger chain hotels. A New York boutique feel, with no tour buses.
We will be back. Thank you for the lovely stay .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandals1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,233 reviews
0.3 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,564 reviews
0.9 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,099 reviews
12.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: ₹ 7,323 - ₹ 16,781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing