We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$ 190
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$ 162
US$ 152
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$ 275
US$ 266
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$ 167
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$ 409
US$ 284
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 315/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harbour House Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$ 254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$ 229
US$ 216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

As You Like It B&B(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argus House(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$ 151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (995)
Filter reviews
995 results
Traveller rating
720
203
37
16
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
203
37
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrowniezee's grillbathroom mirrorpet fishrain showerdvd libraryrain headmy husband and ipersonalized stationaryfestival theatrerooms are smallmain buildingguest loungeattached restauranthotel restaurantking bedlounge area
Filter
Updating list...
716 - 721 of 995 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Shaw Club for three nights in early August in the famous "Annex King".
After reading reviews we were well aware of what to expect with the room, meaning that it isn't attached to the main hotel and the rooms are not as nice. This is all true, but not what made us unhappy with our stay, it was there so called famous service. From our check in which was cold and rude, to simple questions we found as we were bothering the front office staff. After reading previous reviews this is not the first time this has happened, but the hotel always responds as expected with a differring view. I received this treatment upon checkout, instead of resolving the problem the front office manager tended to disagree with me and pretty much called me a liar. I hate dealing with anybody at hotels and restaurants who act stuck up but in all essence just work at a hotel. We the customer are the ones paying the big bucks to stay at these expensive hotels.
With no reservations on our last night we decided to eat at Zee's. We went down at 7:15 pm to eat and the restaurant was half empty. We were told we couldn't have a table until 8:00 pm because they had been very busy before the show at the festival and needed a break. I have never heard of this before and told the hostess we were guests of the hotel. She told us to hold on and she would check with the manager. She quickly came back with a no, when I asked to speak with the manager I was told they were too busy. This was no surprise and it was a continuation of the terrible service and rude attitude we received most of our stay. In closing stay away from this hotel as the service is terrible and not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jtga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

I would like to apologize to you if you believe your service was not up to our normal standards, especially considering the girl who checked you in is always one of the very best when it comes to guest service and satisfaction. I was a little disappointed to see your reference to other reviews that mention this poor service as our reviews continuously mention the exceptional service they receive while with us. Perhaps you were reading reviews from another hotel? I am also sorry that we were not able to accommodate you earlier than your 8pm reservation at Zees. It is confusing some times when the restaurant doesn't look full yet you are being told that they are too busy to seat you early. The reason for this is because you arrived just as our first seating was finishing but before the 7:30 reservations had arrived. This will often make the restaurant appear less busy even though the next wave of reservations is just about to arrive. Unfortunately, if we were to have given you one of the empty tables then we would not have been able to accommodate our reserved guests. Thank you again for your feedback and I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We celebrated our 29 th anniversary this past Sunday with a wonderful stay with our friends.The rooms were very modern and comfortable. The staff at check in and the restaurants were great. My wife and her friend really enjoyed their vivit to the spa
A wonderful complimentary gift was waiting for us in our room when we arrived and every one made us feel welcome during our stay. We definitely will be returning for another stay.
Beth & Jim

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Had a 1 night stay in a room on the ground floor of the main building....so convenient to just pop over to the lounge (tv, magazines, dvds, board games, Keurig coffee machine, computer/printer station) or restaurant (Zees). We were walked to our room when we arrived which was such a nice touch and then given a tasty brownie and spa gift (as part of the Blissful Stay package). A card and paper with your name is also left for you. Great king sized bed, reading area and couch. Huge TV but unfortunately the DVD player didn't work....usually you can just walk over to the lounge to borrow a DVD from their library which is a great idea. The bathroom was gorgeous and the shower was incredible....rain shower and hand-held. A tv in the bathroom too!!! The attached restaurant (Zees) had great food and the outdoor patio /veranda created a gorgeous atmosphere...enjoyed dinner the night we arrived (2 appetitzers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts with our package), continental breakfast (yogurt with homemade granola and berries, blueberry scone, multigrain toast and jam) and lunch. Very convenient location of the hotel across the street from the Shaw festival and walking distance to all the NOTL shops/restaurants and lake. Had a couples massage at the Shaw Spa which was so relaxing and had great customer service at reception! Had a late checkout of 1pm which really made the 1 night stay feel longer (otherwise checkout is 11am). Really pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms near reception very convenient to pop over to lounge or restaurant. Water / ice is on 2nd floor though but was glad to stay on ground level to come and go easily.
Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank relaxerseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Overall impression of my 2 night stay at The Shaw Hotel and Spa is possitive. The staff in every department ( guest services, housekeeping, the restaurant and spa services) all met or exceeded my expectations. Customer service is clearly on the forefront.
The Spa is simple and unadorned, but the quality of the services are top notch.
I did not have any full meals at Zee's, but enjoyed the view and atmosphere of the veranda for breakfast and a night cap.
As a yearly visiter to NOTL, I mostly like that it is a scerene and enjoyable place to stay, without the tourist-y feel of the bigger chain hotels. A New York boutique feel, with no tour buses.
We will be back. Thank you for the lovely stay .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandals1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Hotel is excellent with minor exceptions. It is convenient to the Shaw Festival Theatre, close to the main street, easy to locate upon arrival, and clean. Our room in the annex was favorably priced but a bit tired and difficult to get consistent wifi reception. Upon arrival, the check in was difficult due to communications between the cleaning staff and the desk. The common areas of the hotel were terrific and the Toronto newspaper is unusually good. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews