We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get away”
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

What a perfect spot for a get away! Rooms are smaller but modern and spotless. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The young lady at the bar makes the best martinis and the hotel has everything one could want for a "get away". Movies are available/spa treatments are steps away and the restaurant has great meals--it is all there!

Room Tip: If there is a room available with King bed and pullout couch---lovely and larger and so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dentalOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 732 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

I took advantage of a Sniqueaway deal so we only paid $99 a night for our classic king room. The hotel itself is in a great location with sufficient parking. The interior is very modern and well appointed. i really liked the lounge in the lobby with it's self serve Keurig coffee maker. The rooms are well designed to make the most of a small space. I liked the personalized stationary and the incredibly delicious brownie waiting for me. They provide wine glasses, water glasses, ice bucket and water jug. There was a Culligan water cooler just down the hall with an ice machine and pop machine. The robes were also a nice touch as was the little tv screen in the bathroom mirror.

Breakfast was included with our stay and includes toast, cinnamon bun, homemade granola, yogurt, juice and coffee. For the low price of $7.50 you could add an hot item such as french toast, omelet or eggs benedict. On our second morning there we were given the option of the continental breakfast in our room or a european breakfast buffet at the Harbor House as Zees was closed. We opted to go to the Harbor House as we wanted to see the property. (It was beautiful and the breakfast was great)

I would definitely stay here again but I'm not sure I would do it during peak season. Being there when the town was quiet and the snow was falling was a blessing. Also be sure to dine at Zees Grill - the food is amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here for a girl's weekend visit to the wineries. The location was perfect - we walked everywhere in the village that we needed to go. The hotel is updated with modern design and fixtures, although not every guest room is updated. We were in a very reasonably priced room with two queen beds; the fixtures and furniture were older, but the carpet looked new and the beds were furnished with the featherbeds, good quality sheets and duvet covers.
Continental breakfast was included in our room stay, and it was perfect for us. Breakfast is served in the dining room - it's not a buffet - and included coffee and juice plus a platter of croissants, toast, cranberry compote and individual bowls of yogurt with granola and fruit. It was perfect for us, but there was an option to upgrade to a hot breakfast for $7 each.
The hotel offers an option to add on a wine tour to your stay. But after finding out who the tour was through and based on Tripadvisor reviews, we decided to book our tour through Grape Escapes and were very pleased.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My fiancée and I stayed in the Shaw Club for two days in December, just before Christmas. We had initially planned to only stay for one night, but we liked it so much that we stayed for another night. We loved the place. It's a perfect hideaway. Clearly it was off-season time in Niagara on the lake, and there weren't many people in town. Notwithstanding that the hotel staff was extremely helpful and attentive. We had booked a room with a fireplace, which was actually quite spacious (I've seen different opinions on the size of the rooms) and very nicely designed with a lot of attention to detail. The bed was particularly noteworthy. We had an issue with the sliding door of the bathroom which didn't close properly. It had to be fixed, and they upgraded us into their suite.
The other point worth mentioning was the massage in the adjacent spa. One of the best deep dissue massages I've had.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Shaw Club is about my favorite place on this planet! My husband and I have stayed there twice for romantic long weekends. We take a quick flight from Baltimore to Buffalo, NY and then a quick drive North to Niagara-on-the-Lake. The town is fantastic and filled with friendly people. The service at the hotel is top notch. I will agree that the rooms are small, but they are so comfortable. It's basically right down town and walking distance to so many shops and restaurants.

The first time we booked a room, we had pre-paid through a package on another website. About 18 hours before we were supposed to board our flight, our 5 year old broke his arm. I called and the hotel took care of rescheduling everything including our wine tour and dinner reservations at several restaurants. Even though we were well past the time for changing our date, they were happy to accommodate our situation. When we went the next month, our trip was perfect!

I can't recommend the town or the hotel enough. Their attention to detail and service is remarkable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappileeMarreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,233 reviews
0.3 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
0.3 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,567 reviews
0.9 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: ₹ 7,363 - ₹ 16,809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing