We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Charming Retreat”
Periwinkle Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Periwinkle Cottage
The pool is a heated June thru Sept - salt system swimming pool - 32 x16 ft. Relaxing summer evenings on the veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Periwinkle Cottage
The pool is a heated June thru Sept - salt system swimming pool - 32 x16 ft.
Relaxing summer evenings on the veranda
The veranda
Inside the cottage
The living room has beautiful views over the garden and verandah.
The sunny dining room overlooks the pool and garden
Queen sized bedroom overlooks the verandah and side garden
This peaceful bedroom overlooks the shaded rear garden.
This quaintly furnished single bedroom overlooks the rear perennial garden.
Fresh herbs and cherry tomatoes in season
Rear deck
The spring perenniel garden
The pool
Mid-may and the pool is open and surrounded by spring flowers.
The spring garden
The garden
Perenniel garden
The shade garden
Spring garden
Original Chatauqua cottage next door
Close to the lake and spectacular sunsets
River view of Fort Niagara
Sailing on the river
Surrounded by majestic trees like this tall oak
The oak tree in it's autumn glory
The maple in autumn
Spring returns
There are cardinals and blue jays spring and summer.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
R-and-R64
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Charming Retreat”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a fabulous week in beautiful Niagara on the Lake. I can't think of anything that could have made our vacation any better. Periwinkle Cottage was simply beautiful and offered everything we had hoped for. As for Niagara on the Lake, it is one of the most picturesque places we have been fortunate enough to visit.

As we had booked the cottage well in advance - I corresponded with Genie, the property manager, several times with details regarding our stay. She is a delightful woman who seemed more like an old friend each time I spoke with her. She certainly is well suited for her position. She is patient, helpful and kind while providing information about the property and its amenities.

The location of the cottage can't get any better. It is in 'old town' NOTL which boasts jaw dropping properties, charming narrow lanes and beautiful sunsets as it is a 2 minute stroll down to the lake complete with benches and a shaded park. Horse and buggies for hire can be seen along the quiet lanes that add to the story book feel of the area.

The cottage is so charming from the front porch, shutters, screen doors, pine floors and so much more. Attention to detail in terms of preserving the original state of the period farm house was enjoyed and admired. Luxury bedding and towels were provided in each of the three bedrooms. Three baths, 2 piece, 3 piece, and 4 piece, made mornings easy as 4 of us shared the cottage. There is a quaint wooden pool/garden shed that provides storage and one of the 3 bathrooms.

We loved having the pool and used it every day as we enjoyed a wonderful week of hot summer weather. The lush gardens in the backyard provide beauty and privacy - you would never know there were any neighbours nearby. Meals prepared in the cozy, well equipped kitchen were elevated thanks to the abundance of fresh herbs and tomatoes grown on the deck. The abundance of flowers blooming in the gardens were generously offered to use to to adorn our dining table with.

We look forward to another restful stay at Periwinkle Cottage. It is truly a very special retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A jem in NOTL”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We rented the Periwinkle cottage for an extended long weekend in mid-September and it was absolutely fabulous! This period cottage had a fantastic private backyard and pool which was perfect for dinner\BBQ on the terrace, afternoon swim or an evening glass of wine. The location was perfect - only a 2 minute drive to the centre of town, close to theatre and wineries around the corner. The property manager was also very friendly and lovely to deal with. We will 100% be booking our next stay in NOTL at the Periwinkle

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Glad you had a great time. Hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat close to everything...”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We are just concluding a blissful week-long stay at Periwinkle Cottage. Genie provided us with a warm welcome and orientation to the house upon our arrival. I have never seen such a well-equipped kitchen in a vacation rental. It was a real treat to prepare meals, especially with the fresh herbs growing in the garden. The pool is beautiful although fair warning, if you have kids (which we do not) you want to be aware that most of the pool is quite deep and the drop off from the shallow end is steep. It did not hamper our enjoyment at all and we swam almost every day The A/C was a great bonus, particularly since the first few days of the week were quite hot. The cottage itself is very prettily and comfortably furnished and decorated. We can tell it is well-loved and very well-cared for. It is just up the road from the lake, where the sunsets can be quite spectacular and on a clear (very clear) day you can see Toronto in the distance. A brisk 15-20 minute walk brought us right into town and we also made use of the very nice bikes and helmets. The Niagara Wine Tour picked us up at the door! We cannot recommend this rental enough. It was everything we hoped for and more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well equipped kitchen, the pool, the comfortable home.
Liked least: everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nasher78
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We enjoyed 4 nights here over Victoria Day weekend. The cottage has all the amenities you need to have a wonderful holiday. The garden is just so pretty in May and provides a wonderful relaxing retreat after a day sightseeing/wine tasting/shopping. Despite the pool not being heated in May we still managed a dip - how lovely that will be in the summer months.
We would certainly love to come back to Periwinkle some day and enjoy the charm of Niagara-on-the-lake again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
architect...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, well appointed, gorgeous garden, swimming pool fantastic to come home too. We cooked all our meals in, and enjoyed several sitting in the gorgeous garden. On a hot day the air conditioning was a great relief. Really lovely house, comfortable beds, beautifully decorated.

The only suggestion might be that one of our members would have appreciated grab bars in the bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say, it was all really terrific
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing