We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUNCH AT THE WINE BAR”

Vintages Wine Bar & Lounge
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Very cold day, but so warm and cozy in the bar lounge with the fireplace going and chatter all around us. We had a light snack for lunch as it was late in the afternoon and was great. will definitely do this again & the staff was great and attentive. thank you

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Judy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017

I was visiting from out of town, and wanted to take my sister and family for a treat on Boxing Day. They have lived in NOTL for 45 years and have frequented the Pillar and Post regularly. It turned out to be mussel night. It was a very frustrating experience, and we all decided it would have been much more pleasant to have stayed home and cooked.

We waited over an hour for our mussels. It was “all you can eat”, and 2 or 3 of us wanted second portions. We waited again for almost an hour for that, even though the restaurant was half empty by then. The mussels were inconsistent, the second batch having a much better sauce than the first, which was also cold. The bread that came with the mussels was terrible - dry and stale. My sister’s plate had several empty shells and 5 or 6 unopened ones (which you are never supposed to eat). Surely, these should have been picked out before being served.

One more thing. We thought it totally imappropriate to be eating dinner in a restaurant with at least 10 people in bathrobes straight from the spa. Breakfast and lunch maybe, but dinner in a nice restaurant??? We felt like we were in the coffee shop in a gym complex.

So, overall,it was a very disappointing experience. Having said that, our server, named Peter I think, was very good. Our disappointment had nothing to do with him.

With all the other choices available in NOTL, I have no desire to return to the Pillar and Post Vintages Bar. The main restaurant is of course an option, but we were looking for a cozy and relaxed less-upscale option on this particular evening. But not one in which we could have come in our dressing gowns!

Thank jemacintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

The best way to eat at any of any of the Vintage Hotels in the Town is on the Half-price days - so look on the website first.
The pub is very old-fashioned and needs a face -lift which I believe is happening next year. We had a great Irish lad serving us, Peter, who was really on the ball and pleasant.
The mussels from prince Edward island were really great in a good broth...and you can get a refill for 10 Dollars. The hotel is quaint and Olde Worlde and a favourite place for ladies who love being cosetted at a Spa .
All in all, a great experience.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LadyPamelaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Had wonderful drinks in a great little (in house bar) . Great "pub" like setting inside the pillar and post. Great bartender and nice atmosphere always a stop on the trip!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

our group of 6 ate here for dinner. Amazing prime rib sandwich w/sweet potato fries! The meat was tender and juicy. The bread was lovely and crisp, not soggy at all! The fries were well cooked. Our friends ordered the Niagara Exchange Amber ale and were not disappointed! They really enjoyed it. Apparently you can only get it there on draft!
One friend ordered a Caesar and it came nicely adorned with salami, lots of pickled veggies. Looked great!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vintages Wine Bar & Lounge also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Vintages Wine Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing