We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for a Queen”
Review of Queen's Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen's Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband was here for a conference at check in we discovered due to over booking on the hotels part our room had been upgraded to a suite in the Dockside house down by the harbor. Dockside is 4 suites 2 up 2 down. A bit inconvenient if you are at a conference you need to walk outside and up the hill but the room made up for the slight hike and more! The rate posted on the door is $600 a night the hotel honored the conference rate we checked to be sure after all nothing is ever free in this life but sometimes you luck out! The service was excellent questions answered promptly and always with a smile. The salt water pool was wonderful for relaxing after a day of golf and best yet no one was there we had the entire area to ourselves. The meals served at the conference were delicious artfully presented the portions just right.The only problem... the soundproofing between floors and room at Dockside was not adequate the extremely inconsiderate people in the room below us partied on till 2 am the first night and the second night when they stared knocking over furniture ? we finally pounded on the floor and surprisingly they went to bed! If that hadn't worked we were ready to call the front desk. The downtown is a short scenic walk from the hotel and Fort George is literally right across the street for history buffs it cant get any better!

Room Tip: We fully expected one of the conference rate rooms the suite was a huge surprise. We have stayed her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4theluvofgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,470 - 1,474 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

Wow this is a great hotel, the food was awesome at the Tiara resturant, I had several meals and they were all wonderful and have a great view of the water. The outdoor patio was nice too. The rooms are lovely and the turn down service at night was a nice touch! Comfy beds. I can't find a thing to complain about. We were there for work but it felt like a holiday :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yelsel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The change in management has turned this previously lovely hotel into a standard hotel. The service, the decor, lack that extra touch of distinctiveness that i expect from an upscale hotel. The room was clean with a spa tub and fireplace, but the bed was uncomfortable and left me with a sore back. The wireless internet service did not work and when we asked for assistance they gave us a 1-800 number to call and they didn't answer the call. For the price, I would not stay here again. Last but not least the food was terrible. The best and most memorable thing about this stay was the rose on the bed every night. I was here with a group and we all agreed we would never eat here again, and it is likely that we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cashmra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Good location, clean, excellent food - try the eggs Benedict for breakfast - excellent !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ADITA2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was an anniversary trip for us with a package set up by our travel agent which included rooms for three nights at the Queen's Landing, two tickets for each of two plays at the Shaw Festival, a wine and cheese tray and a rental car for three days. When we began researching the trip friends warned us to stay away from Niagra Falls, N.Y. due to crime problems and to stay on the Canadian side. Our travel agent agreed and recommended Niagra-on-the-Lake. We had never heard of Niagra-0n-the-Lake, much less the Shaw Festival and our main purpose was to see Niagra Falls, so the entire trip was a learning experience.

Our first pleasant surprise was the Queen's Landing. We arrived shortly after the 3 p.m. check-in time after an easy 45-minute drive from Buffalo International. Clearing Canadian customs took all of one minute with a very friendly border agent and was an enormous contrast to our return trip through U.S. Customs which took more than an hour before even reaching a not very friendly U.S. border agent while armed personnel moved in and out among the cars backed up waiting to clear customs.

After a quick check-in we had hardly gotten unpacked when our wine and cheese tray arrived, providing a much needed respite after our three-hour plane trip and 45-minute drive. We took our GPS with us so had no trouble finding out way. That evening we had our only dinner in the hotel dining room with excellent steaks and good house wine. Then we walked one block to the Shaw Festival theater to see the first of our two plays. I had anticipated a summer stock kind of environment up and coming yung actors but again was pleasantly surprised to learn that the actors were among Canada's top stage and/or screen actors and both of the plays were outstanding.

Niagra-on-the-Lake is what I would call an upscale tourist trap with numerous gormet restaurants, art shops, wine and cheese shops, upscale clothing stores and boutiques and upscale dealers in knick knacks. There are no bargains to be found here. It took three days to find a restaurant that served simple hot dogs and hamburgers and we only spotted it as we were leaving on our trip home. Another thing we learned as we were leaving town is that Niagra-on-the-Lake is in the heart of Canadian wine country with over 200 wineries and vineyards in the immediate vicinity. We stopped at three of them on the way out of town but I did not find any of the wines I tasted to be to my liking except a $90 bottle of ice wine which is made from frozen grapes. While I enjoy wine, I am not a wine afficionado and declined to pay $90 a bottle. A $2.97 bottle of Oak Leaf from Wal-Mart is perfectly fine for me.

We used one of our three days to drive to Niagra Falls, Ontario to see the falls. The Canadians have a People Mover transportation system which was $8.50 per person for an all-day pass. For $45 we were able to get the transportation plus tickets to five of the eight major attractions in Niagra Falls, including the Lady of the Lake boat tour; Journey Behind the Falls, the Whirlpool Aerial Tram, the White Water Walk and several others. This was an excellent value and we had plenty of time to use all five of our tickets at a substantial savings off the actual walk-up prices. The Journey Behind the Falls was not operational due to elevator problems and friends told us we didn't miss much. We were able to catch the People Mover at the Canadian Narional Botantical Garden well north of down town where parking was uncrowded so did not have to fight the heavy tourist traffic in Niagra Falls proper. At the end of the day the People Mover dropped us off at the Botantical Grden and we were able to return to the Queen's Landing having never gotten mixed up with the heavy tourist traffic.

The Queen's Landing is a modernized version of an old hotel and it had a simple elegance mindful of upscale European hotels. It overlooks Lake Ontario and while lunching or breakfasting in the grille, we could watch sailboats and power boats on the lake. Niagra-on-theLake is loaded with museums, old forts, golf courses and other points of interest which could keep one thoroughly occupied during the day, though the Shaw Festival has matinees as well as evening performances. Many of the points of interest are within easy walking distance of the Queen's Landing.

Another reviewer complained of a $633.00 incidental charge on a prepaid room. Our room was prepaid and we were asked to provide a credit card for incidental expenses, a common request that I have encountered at many hotels in the past when the rooms are prepaid.
In our case, no incidental charges were made and no charges were ever applied to our credit card. There clearly was a misunderstanding on the part of the reviewer. We found every member of the hotel staff from the front desk to the servers in the restaurants to be exceptionally friendly and accomomodating and certainly not stuffy.

Room Tip: The entrance to the hotel faces south while the back overlooks the lake. Our room was on the east si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank-you for your lovely review and the kind words about our service team! I'm glad you were able to enjoy the NOTL experience for the first time and that you enjoyed our main Restaurant Tiara. I noticed that you mentioned looking for a hamburger in town, we makes great burgers outside on the BBQ, and they are actually our #1 best seller on the patio!
I also wanted to thank-you for your comments on incidental charges, your knowledge and clarification is much appreciated.
Hope you can visit again in the future,
Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,820 reviews
1.2 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,149 reviews
0.9 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,243 reviews
0.3 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
960 reviews
0.9 km away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Landing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Landing

Address: 155 Byron Street | P.O. Box 1180, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: ₹ 9,329 - ₹ 21,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Georgian-style mansion overlooking the scenic Niagara River and Lake Ontario. #1 hotel in Ontario on Conde Nast Gold List 2010 and CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award for dining and accommodations. Conveniently located just a short walk from the town's main street and Shaw Festival. 140 elegant guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Queen's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Landing Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Queens Landing Niagara Lake
Queens Landing Hotel
Hotel Queens Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing