We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We were offered an upgrade when checking in and got the best room in the house! Luxurious, oozing character, so many lovely touches, from the heated towel rack, radiant heat in the marble bathroom floor, fresh oranges, period furniture and a rose on the bed at turn down. Pampering to the extreme.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acorn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    264
    127
    61
    15
See reviews for
209
972
15
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Catharines Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our group was there on the weekend for business. The staff were professional, very welcoming and accommodating in all aspects of our stay. The Hotel is situated in the heart of the town and is a lovely walk for shopping and sightseeing. Meals as well were top notch.
Although we were on business we felt as though we were on a vacation in terms of the service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Prince during the ice wine festival in January. This hotel is among the best in Canada Maybe the world, I have never had such good pairings with food and great Ontario wines ever before. Our room was perfect as it fit perfectly into the heritage of this wonderful town . I can't think of a better place to travel for a long weekend than Niagara on the lake and the Prince of Whales. Thanks for the best weekend ever.
DH

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at the hotel and both times it has not lived up to the hefty room price. On this occasion I took my parents and two friends. My father was horrified at the price. He asked about a senior discount at check-in and was told in a rather condescending manner that the rate he had was cheaper than the senior rate. Our bedroom was small and dark and smelt of damp. When we mentioned this to the front desk, we were told that they would have the cleaners give it an extra clean which translated into air freshener which of course did not take care of the smell.
The food was good but very pricey.
The last straw was when my mother asked to borrow an umbrella and was told it would cost 15 dollars. Of course they meant as a deposit but didn't not say it that way.
We had been really looking
forward to bringing my parents to NOTL but the experience at the hotel definitely lessened the experience.
Very disappointing indeed. Would never stay here again and would be loath to stay in any of the sister hotels given our experience. The only bright spot was the bar which has excellent snacks and wine

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We've stayed before at other hotels in the Vintage Hotels chain in Niagara-on-the-Lake, namely the Queen's Landing but are Charles Inn regulars who took a break from it thinking they were undergoing construction adding a new wing. Though the Prince of Wales is better maintained than Queen's Landing, there was a glitch in an otherwise pleasant stay on New Year's Eve. We had the Blue Room above the entrance, a very nice suite. The glitch was no free wi-fi in spite of paying handsomely for the room. Another slight detail was that the stone floor in the bathroom was freezing cold and it was unusually mild outside for a winter day. The pink marble vanity was nice though. I'd like to give it overall more than "average" and a bit less than "very good" but will leave it at "very good" thanks to the generally lovely staff in the person mainly of the same server we had at New Year's Eve dinner then New Year breakfast. She was a doll, as was the early morning concierge. We didn't try the tea which I normally make a point of having in their pretty tea room atrium. The last time, the sandwiches and pastries had been either defrosted or were simply left out too long. Probably at a busy time of year like the Christmas holidays, we wouldn't have run into that problem. I'll no doubt try to have tea there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoulouFdeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.8 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
0.4 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
12.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,204 - ₹ 23,320
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing