We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince of Wales
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$ 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$ 250
US$ 239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$ 272
US$ 261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$ 196
US$ 187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$ 171
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moffat Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$ 158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$ 227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 141
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Landing Inn(Queenston)(Great Value!)
US$ 137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,906)
Filter reviews
1,906 results
Traveller rating
1,355
317
143
71
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,355
317
143
71
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurchill loungeescabechehigh teadrawing roomtea roommain buildingbeautiful hotelthe salt water poolvintage hotelsmy husband and iturn down servicedeluxe roomhotel restaurantget awaytreated like royaltybottle of wineshaw festival
Filter
Updating list...
1,690 - 1,695 of 1,906 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our group was there on the weekend for business. The staff were professional, very welcoming and accommodating in all aspects of our stay. The Hotel is situated in the heart of the town and is a lovely walk for shopping and sightseeing. Meals as well were top notch.
Although we were on business we felt as though we were on a vacation in terms of the service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Prince during the ice wine festival in January. This hotel is among the best in Canada Maybe the world, I have never had such good pairings with food and great Ontario wines ever before. Our room was perfect as it fit perfectly into the heritage of this wonderful town . I can't think of a better place to travel for a long weekend than Niagara on the lake and the Prince of Whales. Thanks for the best weekend ever.
DH

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at the hotel and both times it has not lived up to the hefty room price. On this occasion I took my parents and two friends. My father was horrified at the price. He asked about a senior discount at check-in and was told in a rather condescending manner that the rate he had was cheaper than the senior rate. Our bedroom was small and dark and smelt of damp. When we mentioned this to the front desk, we were told that they would have the cleaners give it an extra clean which translated into air freshener which of course did not take care of the smell.
The food was good but very pricey.
The last straw was when my mother asked to borrow an umbrella and was told it would cost 15 dollars. Of course they meant as a deposit but didn't not say it that way.
We had been really looking
forward to bringing my parents to NOTL but the experience at the hotel definitely lessened the experience.
Very disappointing indeed. Would never stay here again and would be loath to stay in any of the sister hotels given our experience. The only bright spot was the bar which has excellent snacks and wine

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We've stayed before at other hotels in the Vintage Hotels chain in Niagara-on-the-Lake, namely the Queen's Landing but are Charles Inn regulars who took a break from it thinking they were undergoing construction adding a new wing. Though the Prince of Wales is better maintained than Queen's Landing, there was a glitch in an otherwise pleasant stay on New Year's Eve. We had the Blue Room above the entrance, a very nice suite. The glitch was no free wi-fi in spite of paying handsomely for the room. Another slight detail was that the stone floor in the bathroom was freezing cold and it was unusually mild outside for a winter day. The pink marble vanity was nice though. I'd like to give it overall more than "average" and a bit less than "very good" but will leave it at "very good" thanks to the generally lovely staff in the person mainly of the same server we had at New Year's Eve dinner then New Year breakfast. She was a doll, as was the early morning concierge. We didn't try the tea which I normally make a point of having in their pretty tea room atrium. The last time, the sandwiches and pastries had been either defrosted or were simply left out too long. Probably at a busy time of year like the Christmas holidays, we wouldn't have run into that problem. I'll no doubt try to have tea there again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoulouFdeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We recently held our annual general meeting at the Prince of Wales and we were extremely happy with the hospitality, the food, the service and the overall experience we had during our three day stay.

I would recommend it for any meetings you may have.

Jay Traynor
Director of Human Resources
ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks Americas

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews