We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Read House

Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's
Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Kitchen/Dining room
Queen Bedroom 1
Queen Bedroom 2
Twin Room with 2 Single Beds (Bedroom 3)
Upstairs Bathroom Whirlpool Bath and Seperate Shower
Ground floor Washroom with shower
Side of Cottage and Driveway
Shops down the Main High Street in Niagara on The Lake
Niagara On The Lake Main Street
Red Grapes from Local Winery a Short Drive away!
Konzelmann Winery, The Read House Guests enjoying a free tour and taste
Ice Wine and Chocolates!
Niagara on the Lake Ice Wine Festival
1812
1812 War Celebrating 200 years of peace
Fort George
The General Brock Monument
Niagara Falls (Short Drive away around 20 Minutes)
Historical Famous St Marks Church
The Read House can arrange Weddings through Konzelmann Winery the only lake front Winery!
View from Niagara on the lake to the USA
Niagara On The Lake In Full Bloom
The Shaw Festival Theatre
The Court House - Shaw Theartre
The Royal George (Shaw) Theartre
General Simcoe (Founder of Niagara on the lake)
10% Discount to all CDN, UK and US Military
Cleaning the New French Oak Barrels at Knozelmann estate Winery
Food and Wine Paring at The Read House We come to you!!! See our Web Page for prices.
London Bus Tours in Niagara On The Lake and Horse Drawn Carrage Rides
Enough Said, Get away From those Kids You Deserve it Weekend !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tchase123
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My girlfriends and I spent another relaxing weekend at the read house. Great location - close to the shops and great restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSulewski
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time in a great location”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a great time staying at the Read House. Clean, neat and very comfortable beds. The house in located close to town that encourages you to walk and explore. We also enjoyed the free Complementary wine tastings at several of the wineries- Thank you Simon. The Shaw Festival was the excuse to go to Niagara on the Lake, but the Read House made us feel like part of the community.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable warm feeling of the house
Liked least: Stairs going up
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alonsegs
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Located close to the centre, the house is very well maintained and includes three bedrooms and two fully equipped bathrooms as well as kitchen, dining room, lounge and patio with barbeque. The place is very clean, the owners are helpful and no doubt we will be back on our next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theFred20...
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Comfortable, and Well Taken Care Of; Would Stay There Again :)”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Generally, I would say this accommodation was an extension of our own home. Our friends from Australia, who accompanied us, were very pleased and mentioned how exquisite the bedding was. The beds were very comfortable, and the living room was very conducive to gathering together for a communal glass of wine.
We were happy to have use of the BBQ on the spacious deck, plus all the kitchen supplies to achieve total independence for meals. The cottage was nicely situated for tripping to the quaint downtown area, and the complimentary wine tasting coupons were much appreciated. Thanks Simon !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean and quaint this house was.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2012
Thanks for the kind remarks, you have commented on exacly what Myself and my Wife Claire are trying to achieve 'A home away from home', All our linens are 550 thread count and we want to give luxury at a great price which we all deserve from time to time!
This is what I as well as my Wife Claire want from a holiday, and so this is what everyone who stays here gets.

Regards

Simon and Claire Bentall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tchase123
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Read House was amazing - clean, quaint, within walking distance of great restaurants and shops. A perfect little getaway for family or with friends! I would definitely go back. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing