We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful homey place with hosts that care about the details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful homey place with hosts that care about the details”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Our stay at Carbonnel was absolutely wonderful. The amenities were very clean and spacious. The dining room where we had our breakfast had a different theme each morning for the utensils, napkin rings, tea pots and table cloths, which was such a nice touch. Since we were cycling around the wineries every day, they ensured there were extra bottles of water in our room fridge for our rides, which was exceptionally considerate. They also gave us several maps and told us that if we were lost at any point we could call them and they'd come and find us! We truly felt taken care of by the wonderful hosts, Lynn and Ken and we'd recommend this BnB to anyone going to Niagara-on-the-Lake, especially those who are unfamiliar with the area (or the country for that matter!)!

Room Tip: Book 2-3 weeks in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicyclette31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Located in beautiful fields a few minutes outside of Niagara-on-the-Lake and immediately off the famous Wine Route, Carbonnel was the perfect place to stay during my wife's and my recent trip to the region. We stayed in the lovely (spacious) Alexandra room, and not only enjoyed the facilities but also the genuine warmth and hospitality of the hosts Lynne and Ken, who were as handy in conversation as they were in the kitchen; a kitchen that churned out wonderful coffee and tea, juice, fresh regional fruit and fantastic breakfast mains. If you're in the area, and especially if you'd like an idyllic space amidst the vineyards, do yourself a favour and book a stay at Carbonnel.

Room Tip: Try the Alexandra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Niagra-on-the-Lake is full of B&B's, and I'm sure that most are on par with what many would rate them as "okay and nice". But this B&B cannot be out-done by any no matter where you might be travelling - it's just not possible. From the delightful and entertaining Scottish owners, to the wonderful teas and delicious breakfasts, to the room details, to the spotless bath, it was all a B&B should be and more. If you want to walk to places, stay in town. If you have a car and don't mind a 5 minute drive through wine country and star filled nights in the country, look no further that this B&B, You will not want to leave - it is truly that good.

Room Tip: In the summer, south upstairs can get warm; ask for north room upstairs or downstairs room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrelVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The easiest way to spot the Carbonnel Bed and Breakfast is to look for the City of Glasgow sign in front of the house. The hosts, Lynn and Ken, have been in Canada since the 1970s, but they haven't lost their charming Scottish accents, nor their Scottish sense of hospitality. The B&B is spotless. Our 2nd floor room had a king-size bed, a small fridge, and a very decent shower. My only quibble was the thin and soft mattress. Breakfast, served between 8:30 and 9:30, was ample, beautifully presented in a lovely, sunny room, and featured lots of fruit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonin60seconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So.Burlington,Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Lovely Bed & Breakfast, Convenient location to ALL area vineyards / wineries, very accommodating host & hostess and great great breakfasts. Very comfortable room, quiet country setting and fun breakfast conversation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bralyn1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
6.6 km away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
6.5 km away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.8 km away
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfast
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfas...
#58 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
6.5 km away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#63 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
6.7 km away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1783 Townline Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,483 - ₹ 8,751
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carbonnel is a Cape Cod-style home, We have three very spacious and comfortable King-size Suites. Situated on a private park like setting, plenty of free off street parking. We offer our guests a delicious hot breakfast every morning. We are located 7 Kilometres from the historic Niagara-on-the-Lake about a 10 minute drive. We are nestled in a relaxing environment among vineyards and Wineries and orchards. Finish your day in the hot tub or on the porch. Niagara-on-the-Lake has much to offer our Guests, we have Fort George for Historic interest. Our Town is called the Prettiest Town in North America. We are famous for our Theatres named after George Bernard Shaw the famous Playwrite. We are about a twenty minute drive along the beautiful Niagara River Parkway from One of the Famous Wonders of the World, Niagara Falls. Niagara region has so much to offer our Guests. Carbonnel offers you a home away from home.We are very proud to be able to offer an Award winning Accessible Suite for many of our Guests who require Wheelchair access or who are unable to climb stairs. Nominated the 2007 Tourism Awards from the March of Dimes for all of Southern Ontario. We aim to please and make your stay an enjoyable one. We have two bikes available free of charge for our Guests to borrow. We offer tasting or touring vouchers for many of the local vineyards. We offer free wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing