We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, expensive tourist taxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, expensive tourist taxes”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very nice hotel, we had a fallsview room on the 14th floor. Although it was a corner room, we still had a very good view of the falls. Hotel parking was very expensive at $20 per night. Also all the establishments on fallsview boulevard charge a "fireworks tax" which was very annoying as we traveled in April and there werent any nightly fireworks, I felt as though we should not have to pay for taxes on things we would not experience. Also be sure to exchange to canadian currency as they say their money is worth more than American. The breakfast buffet was good although they only offer pork products. I thought it was very nice that during the manager's reception they had sodas, chips,pretzels,veggies and candy for both adults and children.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTsmom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,337
    2,826
    1,211
    604
    530
See reviews for
3,388
3,456
56
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here for one night in a suite with two beds and a pullout couch. The room was very very large, I think the largest room I have ever stayed in at a hotel. The room could use some updates as I dont think it has been renovated in a long long time. We had a city view, if you could get on the other side you would have a remarkable view of the falls. The breakfast buffet was good, but expect a line if you go late!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesPharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

All very disappointing. Parking, nowhere near hotel, made it inconvenient to drive anywhere. The only thing that can't be faulted was the view. The included breakfast was good, but there were so many people the noise and confusion was intolerable. Lobby, horribly crowded. Room furnishings cheap. Service in hotel's TGIF was dismal and prices shocking. Hotel's Keg (used for the included breakfast in the mornings) was too large and like a cafeteria. Since it was a last minute trip, we paid full price and, unfortunately, we expected service, etc. to reflect the price we paid. Perhaps if we'd had a hotel/show deal, it wouldn't have been so bad.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWhizToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Bought from groupon. Used for couples overnight stay.
Parking: Only valet parking available - $30 for vehicle to be parked on site - $20 to have vehicle parked three blocks away from hotel. Save yourself the money and take a few steps to the very friendly parking attendant across the street, they will only charge you $15.
Reception staff we found abrupt and unprofessional. A far cry from the friendliness of the Crowne Plaza reception staff.
Rooms though a decent size were beige on beige, lacking any warmth or character. Bathrooms, again a decent size but sadly the same drab beige and quite dark.
Upon arrival we asked (politely) if it was possible to have a room on a higher floor. We were told we could, at an extra cost, this upgrade for a higher floor would give us a fireplace. Certainly not an upgrade we would recommend, we spent every 30 minutes switching the fireplace back on, the longest interval on the timer!
Free drink and snack not worth fighting the crowds for, far too many people, far too few seats and again a sad lack of ambiance.
Buffet breakfast, served inside the Keg was a complete fiasco. Staff there gave a choice of express breakfast for those not wanting a long wait, those choosing the express option were seated right beside the line waiting! Wait the short wait, to at least get the view. Staff at breakfast were friendly, especially when you consider the volume of people they were having to deal with. If you don't mind the line up and long wait at the omelette bar it's by far the best choice. The manager might want to consider putting up signage as far as dress, it was the first time we've come across families wearing their P.j's (obviously slept in) to breakfast, certainly in a large hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Ealier this year we decided on spending a couple of days in Niagara Falls and since we hadn't been away together for four years, we were planning on celebrating with a small degree of abandon...in other words, enjoying a couple of days without thinking too much about the budget (within reason of course). We decided to stay at the Embassy Suites Niagara Fallsview Hotel.

Little did we know that upon entering the Niagara Region we had forfeited all rights to retaining the contents of our wallets and bank account.

I won't talk about the actual cost of the hotel room (as we had booked it knowing what it would be) or about the ridiculous HST, which is an affliction we must bear here much the same as those in other countries live with leprosy. I'll talk instead about the surprises, the things that lead me to believe that those in charge of this particular tourist attraction are descendants, or at least students of, some of the greatest robbers, pirates and highwaymen of history, including Dick Turpin, Jesse James and Blackbeard the Pirate. (Keep in mind, this hopefully humorous piece is not directed at any of the staff or workers at the hotel. Every single one that we met was personable, friendly and professional. This piece is directed at their corporate masters.)

We'll start with our arrival at the hotel. Where to park the car? Apparently nowhere. We drove into the forecourt of the hotel where we were approached by a yellow-jacketed valet parking attendant waving bundles of green and orange tickets. He quickly explained that for twenty dollars a night they would park our car somewhere for us, and if we wanted to get to it, they would shuttle us there, or at certain times, actually bring it to us right there at the hotel. Alternatively, for a mere thirty dollars a night, they would park the car for us and bring it to us whenever we wanted. A little steep, but the second option seemed to allow us more freedom, so we chose it, for a total of sixty dollars for the two nights we were staying.

Upon attempting to check in we were told that the smoking-permitted room we had booked wasn't ready and we would have to wait to check in. Alternatively, we could upgrade to the Presidential Suite for a mere eighty dollars a night more. This would be a much nicer suite, with wrap-around windows and a full view of the Falls. Hmmm. Well it was the first time we'd been away for four years, so what the heck, let's go for it! (Although that's $220 more than we had expected, even before opening the door to our room.)

The suite was actually very nice; a large sitting room, nice bright bathroom, jacuzzi, small kitchen area with a fridge and microwave, nice big bedroom with a sitting area and yes, wraparound windows with an amazing view of the falls. Describing it as "Presidential" might have been a little ambitious though. I can't see Mr. Obama staying there and having anywhere to store his Secret Service agents, although there was ample closet space.

As always, upon checking into a room, the first thing to do is explore the refreshment centre. Now Anne and I live a fairly normal life, but we do occasionally splurge on a home-made gourmet meal made with ingredients from the St. Lawrence Market or somewhere similar. However, the range of luxury foods available in the refreshment centre was truly awe-inspiring. The M&Ms, at five dollars, and Pringles, at four dollars and fifty cents, must have been truly from a great vintage. We would never find out though, as we both considered that our limited palates wouldn't have been able to distinguish between these items and the normal versions found in any variety store for a buck.

Anne flipped through the room service menu and we were both pleased to find that we would be able to order chocolate dipped strawberries with whipped cream for a paltry forty-five dollars, plus taxes, gratuities and delivery charge.

We had a wonderful couple of days there, walking around the tourist area, blowing a few dollars at the Casino (actually Anne broke even, and I lost, although if I'd stayed there a few more weeks I know I would have won big!), visiting Bird Kingdom (which allowed me to get some great shots of birds I wouldn't normally have got close to) and Louis Tussaud's Wax Museum (which was a lot of fun, and proved that Jennifer Anniston is actually a mannequin and not a real person, and yes, Sarah Jessica Parker does in fact look like a horse.) We ate well, drank a little too much, perhaps, but basically had a couple of days to think about something other than work and chores.

At some point we opened a one litre bottle of water which was provided in our hotel room kitchen area. We've stayed in a lot of hotels, and bottled water is usually provided, so we didn't think anything of it. Of course, this was vintage Niagara water, though I couldn't taste the difference. It was only later that we found we had just added another nine-fifty to the room bill!

Unfortunately, as with all good things, our trip had to come to an end. Sunday morning came, and with it, checkout time. As is usual with hotels these days, this one provides express checkouts. This is done by having a hotel elf deliver your completely itemized statement to your room sometime during the night. How they get this thing into the middle of the sitting area when I have all the locks and security devices engaged is something I don't want to ponder. Very skinny fingers?

Funnily enough, for each days' charges, another item had been added, something called a "Destination Marketing and Development Fee." In total, another twenty dollars. I'd never heard of this, but I looked it up today, and apparently certain tourist areas apply this charge and use the fees collected to market their "brand", and attract people to their location. But we were already there!

Although we enjoyed the visit overall, I feel that the next time I want to spend $758 for a hotel room for 2 nights, I'll think twice.

And funnily enough, the $30 per night valet parking charge which would allow us to get our car delivered to us any time we wanted was in fact a total waste. While we stood and waited for 35 minutes we saw the same shuttle make 3 round trips delivering smarter people to the lot in which their cars were parked. Probably within a few feet of ours.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.3 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.9 km away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Address: 6700 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#17 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#19 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,362 - ₹ 23,884
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42-story hotel located 100 yards from the waters edge in the Fallsview Tourist District, 1 block from Fallsview Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing