We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked this hotel”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I liked this hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I liked the contemporary design and downtown location of this hotel. Our queen room had a very open design with chrome and glass furniture. The tub was large and comfortable. We spoke with several staff and all were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and quiet, well, quiet from inside the hotel. It is located on a very busy "alley" - part of the appeal - which was alive with street noise of people going to the clubs, etc. The location is great if you like window shopping as there are two shopping districts nearby.
The only negatves I would note were that there were lights burned out in the stairwell. We told the front desk about this and they had still not replaced these 2 days later when we were leaving - this could be a safety issue. Also, they did not make up our room until about 4 in the afternoon, but once they finished it was nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 25 September 2015
We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review. We take great pride in providing a great experience to our treasured guests.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Thanks and safe travels from the entire team at Metro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    124
    30
    7
    10
See reviews for
45
206
26
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel boasts itself as a boutique hotel. When we walked into the room, our first impression was oh, its nice. Then we started noticing things. The sink was dirty - looked like someone had poured their coffee in it, the tub was dirty, the handle to the washroom was filthy. The bed was half made, the door that opens up to an area designated for weddings was unlocked and open. The king bed we had reserved was a double. After relocating us to a different room down the hall, it was marginally better. It was cleaner but the lamps were broken, there was grout all over the sink, 1/4 of a roll of toilet paper with no extras. THE loudest air conditioner unit and quite possibly the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on. There were zero extras - I will never ever go here again. The Holiday Inn is 100% better then this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHANDAKER, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
We value every comment and act to rectify ALL issues; If I am given a chance, I would love to personally discuss and apologize to Nancy. Our phone number is 519 518 9000.
We take pride in our Guest Services, room inspections and upgraded amenities. We showcase our hotel to any one any time (unannounced ) So far we never had such a horrible experience with any guest. We therefore, are shocked and are strive to be perfect.
We not only addressed all issues raised by Nancy but added Kureg Coffee makers with extra variety of KCUPS/flavors, Plush bath robes with hotel logo, china and silver ware for coffee/tea, double bath mats, complimentary water bottles etc. The new restaurant blu duby is a delight. All these are for the comfort and convenience of our guests. I sincerely invite Nancy back to Hotel Metro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Plus there were other things that should have been there that weren't. A young man brought some robes up. It didn't appear that housekeeping was completely finished with the room. It just seemed that the magic was kinda gone. It is perfect for seeing anything at the JLC, going to the fabulous market and a few restaurants nearby. Unless you know this area in London there's not much else to do and it is quite seedy in some areas nearby. Please be aware that this review is from last year & there may be positive changes to the hotel. That's why I'm giving it a 4 instead of a 3...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowecantbringthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHANDAKER, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
We value every comment. It makes us better. We have added Plush new bathrobes with hm logo.
Further; Kureg coffee makers are a hit as we provide more flavors and lot more choices than any hotel in London, we added double bath mats, complimentary bottled water and upgraded Aveda products are standard in every room.
Hotel Metro has un-matched value, unique design and convenient location in London. Our pride is our staff and the service we all provide. Just try us! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had an amazin experiece at the Hotel Metro. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The bed was very comfortable to sleep on. Loved the Kreger coffee make. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It was nice to be so close to the John Labbatt center and within walking distance to all the great restaurants. I would highly recommend the Hotel Metro

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridllay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 25 September 2015
We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review. We take great pride in providing a great experience to our treasured guests.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Thanks and safe travels from the entire team at Metro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed overnight on Apr. 20, chosen for its convenient location: we were going to a concert and didn't want to drive once we got to London. The hotel is across the road from the John Labatt Center as well as Covent Market, also stores & restaurants nearby. Staff were excellent, friendly & helpful. Rooms were a nice size, clean & modern. A very handy place to stay.
Only faults: hard to drive up to front of hotel because of road signs indicating no access ( we had driven the block a few times in frustration and ran in to question parking, hotel staff said we could ignore that sign). Helpful if they could mention this in advance: underground parking located at Covent Market. Also, stairwell had an unpleasant deodorizing smell, we wanted the exercise (nothing wrong with the elevator). in all, we plan to stay there again, looking forward to exploring more of downtown London in future

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
326 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
StationPark All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 32 Covent Market Pl, London, Ontario N6A 1E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
#5 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,059 - ₹ 10,740
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are London’s premiere boutique hotel, nestled in the entertainment district of the downtown area. With a unique blend of lofty minimalism and a dash of trendy flair, we are the perfect escape from the ordinary hotel. We are the perfect blend of past and present contemporary design. At Hotel Metro: Consider it Done! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metro London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing