We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room was not very "plus"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Fireside Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our room was not very "plus"”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel has some nice features. The pub is cozy and warm for those who don't mind a hunting motif.

The room was pretty ordinary. As is too common, the workmanship is low-end. Case in point: daylight is visible around the in-wall air conditioning unit. It got a little cool on that side of the room.

The refrigerator buzzes a little too loudly. The room door has large gaps around it, allowing significant hallway noise intrusion.

But it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the dual shower heads are a sweet indulgence (while nagging at my environmental conscience).

Note: the hotel has special themed rooms which we did not visit.

Room Tip: Try the themed rooms! There's a spaceship and a romantic getaway, maybe more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFireside, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
I am sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Certainly, this is not typical of the high level of service and accommodations for which our hotel is known and we wish to extend our most sincere apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience. I do hope that this unusual experience does not preclude you from once again choosing Best Western Plus Fireside Inn for future travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    290
    88
    29
    17
See reviews for
229
411
42
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Recently, we stayed at the Best Western Plus Fireside Inn for the eighth time. We never get tired of great hospitality. From check-in to check-out, everything seems to be just perfect. The bonus, of course, is the two restaurants: Tom's Place and Bistro Stefan. What more could you ask for? A decent price--you get that. Convenience--you get that, too. Lasting memories--you get that as well. We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you don't want to drag your suitcases up a long stairs, ask for a first floor room. The lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFireside, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stopped for a day/night in Kingston to show my husband the city (had never visited) last August. We found the room to be lovely; impeccably clean, stylish, with great beds. The service was great. Overall I would recommend visitors to stay here. J&J Bird (Gulf Islands, BC)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFireside, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the review for your previous visit to our property. We really appreciate any feedback and use it as guide to consider various opinions in order to continuously improve our services. I would like to personally thank you once again for all your comments and hope to welcome you back once again in the near future to our lovely hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed in Kingston for a business trip last month & stayed at the Best Western Fireside Inn.
It was a good decision.
My room had a fireplace & a great four poster bed.
The fireplace was excellent on a cold & snowy January night. The bed provided a night of peaceful sleep. Very comfortable.
The Best Western also provided a free breakfast.
I will return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fearless57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFireside, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We have read your comments and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. We believe it is perks like complimentary breakfast, onsite business and fitness center, and free wifi that truly add value for our business travelers. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

First time at this hotel, the rooms are comfortable, interesting decor, beds are good, washroom was clean, nice shower head, fireplace is a nice touch but it did not give off any heat.Room could use some sound proofing, could hear doors closing and next room using washroom, but I have definitely had worse.
Front counter staff is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price, made to order, was ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDGNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFireside, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We were very disappointed that we failed to offer you the true Fireside Inn experience. Making all our guests feel like they are staying in their "home away from home" is what we are about at the Fireside Inn. Please let me know if you would like to return and I will ensure that your booking is taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Green Acres Inn
#4 of 37 in Kingston
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fireside Inn

Property: Best Western Fireside Inn
Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#1 Green Hotel in Kingston
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,301 - ₹ 12,942
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Best Western Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing