We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful, spacious new hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious new hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked here after a nightmare at HI Express, where we cancelled all of our 7 rooms. On a whim, the Courtyard accepted our large group and went out of their way to get us on the same floor, and explain everything in a timely fashion. This new hotel is within walking distance to the outlet shops and restaurants (in the same parking lot!). The lobby is spectacular and the waterslide/pool was enjoyed by the little ones. We all rec'd coupons for a full breakfast (french toast, eggs/bacon etc.) at the restaurant because we booked as gov't employees. No parking fees, and plenty of space in the rooms. Our room has 2 queens, a fridge, micro, and was cheery and well appointed. I would definitely return to this hotel. Also- board games for kids in the lobby and STARBUCKS coffee- free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marchbreakneeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Hello!

We are happy to hear that we were able to be a part in salvaging your groups weekend after your less than desirable experience with a competitor.

Thank you for giving us that opportunity and we are extremely happy to hear that your group was satisfied with the arrangements and the hotel during your stay.

We hope to be able to host you and your group for future events.

We look forward to that opportunity!

Until then,

Matthew Fry, for the entire team at The Courtyard by Marriott Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    212
    41
    8
    7
See reviews for
224
122
11
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I was at this property in February 2012 on business for one night. I travel about 50 nights per year across Canada and occasionally the US and in the past year, I have seen many hotels drastically step up their service levels to react to the spooked Canadian and horrible US economies. I haven't stayed here in the past, but this property delivers excellent service in all areas. The front desk staff were funny and fast, the bistro staff very accomodating and the lobby is very well laid out. Marriott doesn't have a huge presence across Canada in relation to some other brands I ususally choose, but this one night will swing me back into the Marriott fold when given the option. The room was large with a chic bathroom and the lobby area has been laid out by a genius, with round booths in the bistro area offering privacy and personal TVs. There is a theatre area in the lobby and computers/printers right by the front door. Being on business and working all night, I did not use the pool or the gym (as I really should have...).

Mr. Marriott, you should be proud of this property carrying your name. I will happily stay here next time I visit Kingston for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAndD2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Hello and many thanks from us here at The Courtyard by Marriott Kingston!

We appreciate and thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that an experienced traveller such as yourself was able to find something different and worthwhile to share with the Trip Advisor community about our hotel!

Our hotel being the first of the new Courtyard by Marriott look and feel, many other of our hotels have been updated and refreshed since we opened and you can expect to see an increased pace converting through 2012.

Mr. Marriott and his team are happy to hear feedback such as yours, because from the beginning to the end, it's all about you, our Guest.

We hope to see you in Kingston on your future travels and hope we don't have to wait too long for that pleasure.

Until then, happy travels.

Matthew Fry, on behalf of everyone here at The Courtyard by Marriott Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We arrived late in the evening very tired and only spent overnight. Room was very clean and breakfast was great. We were warmly greeted and rushed to our room. Lobby was inviting.
Very good Courtyard.

Room Tip: very comfortable....all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were at the Courtyard this past weekend and can't say enough about how great it is! We've been disappointed with a few of the hotels in the area, but we decided to try this one out because of the great reviews it recieved on Tripadvisor. It was exactly as the pictures showed it to be. The Lobby is modern and very open, there is a Bistro to the right as you walk in and a sitting lounge area straight ahead where you can play cards, a board game with the kids or just relax with a drink. The pool area has a wonderful slide that my son just loved. It is only open during certain hours which are usually posted in the lobby and on the pool door; you can still use the pool it's just the slide is locked. They do offer free Starbucks coffee and tea in the Lobby, but it is behind a wall and if you don't hear the check-in clerk tell you when you check in, you might not know and pay for it at the Bistro. Our room was wonnderful too! VERY CLEAN and modern. I liked all the little decorative touches and the color combinations. It was very roomy and efficient. The bathroom was fantastic too. We had a HUGE walk-in shower that was amazing. Just a little side note though, I usually bring my own hairdryer, but I figuered that Marriotts always provide them so I left mine at home. I was shocked when I couldn't find one in the bathroom! I asked the front desk and the clerk told me that it is stored in a bag in the closet to keep down on the clutter. I was also impressed that this location is located in an outlet mall parking lot, with tons of eating options all around as well as a Shoppers Drug mart and Grocery store within walking distance. Over all a great place to stay. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor and it was quite peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbia809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Greetings from Kingston!

Thank you so much for giving Kingston another try after less than desirable stays during previous trips and thank you for staying with us! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with everyone here on TripAdvisor.

We do take pride in our wonderful product, but product only goes so far. We must back that up with our high levels of service and cleanliness and I'm happy to hear we were successful over the course of your stay.

In the interest of full disclosure, I must point out that the complimentary tea and coffee in the morning are not Starbucks products and of a different brand, however the Starbucks products are available for purchase in The Bistro morning through to evening every day. My apologies for the lack of clarification over that.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and we greatly appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Until then...Happy Travels

Matthew Fry, on behalf of the entire Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and it exceeded our expectations. The hotel was very new with modern (but warm feeling) decor. There is a restaurant inside which we did not eat at, but they offered breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack items and cocktails. The rooms are decorated very comfortably and luxuriously. We were very impressed! Great location - almost attached to the factory outlets, and Boston Pizza is literally right there! We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We were very impressed with the 4th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
2.7 km away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
4.7 km away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
4.9 km away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.4 km away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Address: 103 Dalton Ave, Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,628 - ₹ 10,080
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently off of Highway 401 between Montreal and Toronto, the Courtyard Marriott Kingston's brand new facilities (Including our brand new Water Slide!) are ideal to unwind and re-energize! Business Centre, the Bistro Lounge and Restaurant serving breakfast, dinner, and refreshments, our fabulous indoor pool, slide, fitness facilities, and interactive lobby are unique in Kingston. Benefit from the fabulous Marriott Rewards program each and every stay, and make sure to visit our GoBoard with directions and information on all of Kingston's going-ons! When the day is over, enjoy the comfort of our beautifully designed guestrooms and attentive service. Welcome to the Courtyard Kingston - it's a New Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing