We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Europe in Hamilton”
Review of etno bar and grill

etno bar and grill
Ranked #454 of 1,490 Restaurants in Hamilton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

We spend few hours at this little place we had great meal mix meat platter with home made bread. I newer tested anything like it . Few fresh cut cabbage salads and excellent European wine. I really like old rustic look and service was great. Thank you

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank dlucic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

Visited this quaint little restaurant and was more than impressed. The decor was authentically Balkan, and I really no longer felt like I was in Stoney Creek (or even Ontario). The staff was friendly and attentive, and even gave suggestions of where to visit in Serbia. And, most important, the food was superior. We had the Sopska Salad, Chicken Soup, Balkan Cheese Pie, Goulash, and Cevapi. Everything was delicious, and everything was freshly home cooked. Fantastic. I'll be back soon!

Date of visit: November 2015
3  Thank Lex_k_lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Whoever said "Don't judge a book by its cover." has never eaten at Etno's. What you see on the outside-- rundown and dismal --is exactly what the food tastes like. I was with a party of seven. Four of us ordered the goulash, which was simply three tiny pieces of beef swimming in gravy with a large lump of mashed potatoes. Campbell's Beef Stew has more appeal both in taste and appearance. I am not sure what or where Amy Kenny was eating when she reviewed this place for the Spectator in May 2015 and raved about this dish. It was obviously not Etno's. One of our party ordered the Karadjordjeva, which was veal rolled with a creamy cheese filling, which she said was absolutely indistinguishable in flavour and not appealing. Another ordered the trout which he said he could have prepared better on the banks of some lake with simply a frying pan and open fire. All of us walked out of there resolving never to return. I learned two valuable lessons--trust first impressions and don't trust newspaper reviews.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan m, Owner at etno bar and grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

I understend that sombody will not like food or service but to call our place Dump is completly out off line .We come out in two news papers for just year one was for food quality and 2nd was for decor over 850 likes on facebook .I remeber you group of pepole that came with you .If you realize that you walking in 'Dump' what was reson that you stay, finish all you meals ,when you got approched by Manager you never complain or ask to be reinmburst for all your meals .We will reinburst any costumer that is not sadisfied with our service .Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Hidden away on a quiet side street in a small strip mall in Hamilton is a family owned restaurant that provides a culinary taste of Serbia. The authentic decor and friendly atmosphere adds to the ambience, while home made bread and donuts, goulash and amazing meat platters provide an fantastic taste of Eastern European food. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Dine_with_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

I had busnies luch with my company with over 35 pepole small place very good service,exllent food .We try few diferent things .Mix platter and griled trout ,that was soo good .I will come back very soon for some more

Date of visit: September 2015
2  Thank Gorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed etno bar and grill also viewed

 
Stoney Creek, Hamilton
 

Been to etno bar and grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing