We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
5
6
2
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
6
2
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We contacted Hamilton Guest House via email and Tanya replied very friendly. She explained everything very well and was honest with us about how transport was kind of hard and other inconveniences of the matter. Also, when we told her that we didn't feel comfortable with giving out our credit card information, she understood and she was ok with payment when we arrived rather than beforehand payment. Things were different when we got there..
First of all, when we arrived Tom wasn't very friendly, just straight to the payment. After paying, he gave us a small tour of the house and we discovered the smallest bathroom we've ever seen. The toilet and sink were separated from the shower, in which one person could barely fit. Even though it was extremely small, it look cleaner than the shower in the main floor, the one connecting to the kitchen. From the reviews and the pictures I was expecting way more than what me and my boyfriend experienced. We stayed in the private room, which according to the description was suposed to be bright, but didn't get one speck of light. The bed was pretty big although it didn't give us confidence to sleep in it. It wasn't dirty but it didn't feel clean and fresh either. When we finished organizing our stuff in the bedroom and asked him where we could buy groceries, he told us about the store a couple streets from there. However it was closed as it was Sunday and he clearly didn't know the hours. So, without groceries, next option is eating out right? He didn't know much about where to go. Either he doesn't live in Hamilton, or it was one of his first times handling visitors. I'm sure none is the correct answer. The next day we found a garbage can full of mold under the kitchen sink. Gross.
We thought about going to a different hostel, maybe Mississauga, closer to Toronto but everything was full.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to review.

We’re sorry you found us less than you expected on arrival - we always try our best to be as helpful as possible. Perhaps there was some strange event going on, but the online information for our nearest grocery store is that it is indeed open on Sundays. Our staff does indeed live onsite and has a great knowledge of local restaurants - we also have a lot of available fliers, menus and so forth on site. I’m not sure why you weren’t directed adequately, and I apologize - I hope you were able to find somewhere pleasant at one of Hamilton’s many excellent downtown restaurants.

As for the size, brightness and freshness of the room - we apologize if your stay wasn’t as nice as you had expected. Our rooms are very basic, but they are certainly clean and should be very fresh at all times. Our downstairs rooms don’t get a lot of light in spring and summer, due to the garden outside - perhaps we should clear away the plants near them to make them more bright. Thank you for that observation.

I’m not sure what to say about the garbage being disgusting - except to apologize again. The downstairs shower is a little eccentric! The layout of the old house means that some of our facilities are very unique. However, we hope that you brought the issue of the upstairs bathroom’s cleanliness to the attention of staff immediately.

We hope the rest of your stay was more pleasant than your stay with us, and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hamilton Guesthouse is one of those rare unexpected pleasant surprises you once every so often come across in life.From the very accommodating owners Tim and Tanya to the helpful
staff Tom and Wayne, they cannot do enough to help make your stay a most comfortable experience.You are within walking distance of downtown or you can use the bicycles supplied for free, with a grocery store just down the street. But it is the genuine and unique personal touches that makes this place such a gem to find!
William and Lynda Ryan
Devon, England

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I actually live in Hamilton but have a small apartment. When I have guests coming to visit I stay in the HGH with my guests! I've stayed in Hostels all over the world and the HGH has that great "road trip" feel of staying in a Hostel far, far away. The folks who run it are so helpful and fun which helped me learn so much more about this City. The City of Hamilton itself is worth exploring for a few days with it's rich History and amazing buildings and nooks and crannies to explore. I myself came here intending to stay a few days and that was 6 years ago!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingelbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thanks for the review - you know we always love to see you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews