We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Downtown hotel, good location”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a dance competition at a high school. The hotel was just what we expected. The lobby and underground parking were clean and nice. Rooms were clean, quiet and beds comfy . Hallways were grubby and carpets stained. Pool/fitness area excellent and recently updated. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you recommend the Sheraton Hamilton. It’s true we had a tough time keeping the hallways clean during the huge dance competition. Of course the housekeeping team did have them thoroughly cleaned. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    263
    101
    45
    31
See reviews for
148
134
45
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Nl Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton hotel on King Street in Hamilton from April 13th through the 19th. The location of the hotel makes you want to stay inside as it is in a really seedy neighborhood. First I was put in one room but noticed the desk had something spilled all over it and there was even hair matted into it. I hadn't even had my coat off when I noticed this so I called down to the front desk and they moved me pretty quickly. The walls are so thin that I could hear the TV on in the next room and even was awakened in the morning by someone else's alarm clock.
The air conditioner in the room was so loud it would wake me up everytime it cut in. The room was ok but the carpet in the corridors were all unravelling and needed to be stretched as it was like waves. I had to stay at this hotel for work but have to say I will try to find something other than this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goneagain50_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for sharing matters from your week long hotel stay with us. I would like to personally apologize for this unacceptable experience. Please contact me at your convenience as your complete satisfaction is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLUMBUS
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at Hamilton Sheraton for three nights.
Pros: next to Hamilton Centre which was where we attended a weekend event. Rooms recently renovated. Good value for $ and location.
Cons: Limited "good"eateries. Crepe place just inside mall is ok for breakfast. Three Tim Hortons nearby (1 in the mall attached to the Sheraton but not open early on weekends). We drove to eat a nice dinner (note lots of oneway streets, but easy to navigate in Hamilton). Mandarin has the best Chinese (and it is not limited to Chinese) buffet we had ever seen, which is about a 10 min. car drive away.
Parking: You can park in the parkade under the hotel...tight vertical spacing but really access was easy.

Room Tip: There is a balcony patio area off the 3rd floor....so you could request it or request to avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaplois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thanks for your 4-star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Check in was easy. I was disappointed when I opened the door to my room as it smelled like a bar. The was the odour or stale cigarette smoke. I had a chuckle when I read the notice that all rooms are smoke free and I could be charged 240 bucks if I did! I don't know what they do with the money but it didn't seem to be used to remove the odour.

There is only one latch on the door which didn't make me feel so safe but I was only there for one night.

I decided to order room service and found a paper, very used and wrinkled copy on the desk. The food was good and the service was prompt.

There are no safes in the rooms. This is unusual for a business hotel.

The Internet in the room is not wireless and it will cost you 10 per night! Again this is not really acceptable for a business hotel.

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was standard. The lobby, restaurant and lounge were nice.

I don't think that the hotel is worth the price even though it is downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUERTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Your feedback is valuable to us – Thank you! Our goal is to provide a comfortable and restful stay to all guests. It’s true we expect to provide a 100% smoke free environment - you absolutely should not have stayed in a room that was not comfortable. I do want to mention that all guest rooms have wired and wireless internet too; safes are available at the front desk (understandable not the same as having in-room convenience); and all guestroom doors have a door handle activate deadbolt and more noticeably a secondary latch locking device. Thanks again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Sheraton for one night while I was in town for the Around the Bay Road Race. The property was reasonably well maintained, the customer service was excellent and the location couldn't be beat. It is almost attached to Copps Coliseum and is connected to a mall.

I stayed in a King room with a friend and had a good night's sleep. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite spacious. Upon our arrival, we found hairs on and in the sink and on the floor. We were not very impressed with the housekeeping but it could have been an isolated incident.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again based on its good location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thanks for sharing your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
221 reviews
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hamilton Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Address: 116 King St W, Hamilton, Ontario L8P 4V3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Downtown Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,216 - ₹ 11,983
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Hamilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel is near Copps Coliseum, the Hamilton Convention Centre, Hamilton Place, Standard Life office tower, and government offices. Our hotel is between Toronto and Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel Ontario
Hamilton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing