We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
91
171
97
60
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
171
97
60
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake lake ontario spencer smith park waterfront trail front desk staff yogurt music festival bed was comfortable breakfast was included business trip hockey tournament free parking pool and hot tub bulldog beaver kami paula
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Booked hotel to attend niece's wedding. Pluses: lovely room, fully refurbished, including microwave, lots of usb charging ports, water view, close to everything downtown Burlington has to offer. Shane at reception is excellent, so helpful and accommodating. Parking in lot next door for $5.
Minuses: noisy aircon and cant open windows to let fresh air in, smell of paint or glue from renos,

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janine2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila L, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Janine2511,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be sure that we have shared your comments with our staff and in particular with Shane!

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Camila Luchsinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Let me start by saying that the staff are outstanding, especially Joss and Shane who made us fell like friends. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds, a great nights sleep. Nicely furnished with a microwave and coffee-maker. It´s always nice to wake up and have coffee and not have to shower, get dressed amble down to the restaurant. The hotel is going through a makeover, but did not inconvenience us. The one complaint I have is that there was only one closet and I could not space to put my clothes. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Waterfront from the 3rd to the 12th of August. The hotel is going through a transition period, redecorating and refurbishing the apartments. A difficult period for all. We had heard this previous to arriving.
I have never had better or more friendly service than in this hotel. All the reception staff, housekeeping and the servers in the restaurant had a wonderful attitude.
The absolute best was Shane. What a charming and helpful guy he is. Lovely to get to know him. Not forgetting Josh the Irishman. So this should be a lesson to other hotels. If you treat your guest with a friendly and gracious manner they will even forgive the workmen going up and down in the lift.
Good for you Shane and Josh - best regards from us. Dave and Romy

Room Tip: The newly decorated rooms
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Romybr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila L, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Romybr,

Thank you very much for your great comments and for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our location and our services.

Please be sure that we will share your comments with our staff involved.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Sixth visit to Toronto area to see family but first time to Burlington. Whilst nothing is perfect we were pretty happy with the experience. The refurbished room was clean and airy and, miraculously, there was a window that could be opened. It was difficult and disappointing that there were not shelves or drawers but the manager took time to explain to us that this was down to teething problems and was being resolved. New shelving and seating was apparently in hand.Staff friendly and helpful throughout or eight day stay. Certainly breakfasts need to be improved. Plastic cutlery and paper plates! Not good at all. Only one working toaster didn't help either Quality of breakfasts scored a 3/10 and we chose to have breakfast out most days so this needs to be looked at closely. Given that we can understand that this is 'work in progress' we feel confident that next years visit will see a marked improvement. Special mention to Shane on reception and also Jenny Wilkins, General Manager, who took time to discuss these issues with us and give her personal assurances that these issues were presently being resolved. We will book for next year, that's for sure! Oh yes, aircon and bathroom fan very noisey.

Room Tip: Intend keeping this our secret!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila L, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Richard C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be sure that we have shared your comments with our staff and in particular with Shane and Jenny.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Camila Luchsinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I booked this hotel through Booking.com. I don't think I've ever been so disappointed with a Canadian property. It was worse than a 3Star in Cuba.

Check-in - staff were rude and otherwise distracted. We were not told about the complimentary breakfast. When we came down at 10am and asked WHERE we could go for breakfast we were simply told that we "missed breakfast" and they couldn't recommend anywhere for us to eat - and that the restaurant was now closed.

I did not receive an invoice for my stay and despite how many times I call the hotel - no one answers the phone. I want to ensure my billing is accurate.

We were NEVER advised that the hotel was under renovation! I would never have stayed there!!! We were put on floor #2. We requested to move - but our request was denied due to a wedding. The hallways and carpets looked like a third-world hotel. Dirty, disgusting, stained carpets, and the walls were under some sort of renovation. Photos attached. Would you stay here????

Despite our frequent requests to the front desk to address the noise level of party-goers on our floor -- loud banging, loud door slamming, yelling in the hallway, nothing was done.

No towels in the pool area. We called twice to have them replenished - housekeeping showed up with 3 towels.

Nice lobby and the room itself was OK - basically an average hotel room. We had to unplug the lamp to plug in the coffee maker. Took us about 20 minutes to find the ice bucket (under the bedside table which made no sense); beds were comfortable. VERY LOUD air conditioner right next to one of the beds that kept blowing the curtains all over the place. So it was a decision of keeping cool - or being kept awake all night by a noisy air conditioner.

It was a very disappointing visit.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about ongoing renovations - because NO ONE will volunteer that information
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bendie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila L, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Bendie68,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property here on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your experience.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you left the hotel unsatisfied. Please be sure that your comments have been shared with our management team and we will be taking corrective measures to ensure that moving forward, these issues are addressed.

It would be a pleasure to speak with you directly and handle any of your future reservations. I can be reached at 905-681-5400 ext 375.

Kind regards,
Camila Luchsinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews