We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A pleasant place

Not a very long walk but interesting and busy. We walked as far as we could until the path cut in... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
pollyoppy
,
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Feel the Breeze

Such a nice walkway, mostly wooden with a real authentic harbor feel. All along the harbor with... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
tugar
,
ontario
Read all 2,824 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Halifax
from US$ 44.51
More Info
from US$ 117.50
More Info
from US$ 33.04
More Info
from US$ 80.13
More Info
Reviews (2,824)
Filter reviews
2,650 results
Traveller rating
1,589
862
174
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,589
862
174
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halifax waterfront lots of shops street performers maritime museum nice walk board walk farmers market cows ice cream great place to walk historic properties water front ferry terminal tall ship sunny day harbour hopper cruise ship nova scotia
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,650 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Not a very long walk but interesting and busy. We walked as far as we could until the path cut in inland after the cruise terminal and continued to Pleasant Park.

Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Such a nice walkway, mostly wooden with a real authentic harbor feel. All along the harbor with lots of museums, restaurants, high end and basic, along with shops for tourists. At the far end is Pier 21 and the Market.

Thank tugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We walked down to the boardwalk last week to catch the full moon rising over the harbor. It was spectacular! Even with a fair amount of construction going on, we had plenty of room to walk and explore. There are a number of pubs and restaurants to choose from, many with a wonderful view of the water. I had not been to Halifax since the 1970s, and the city has done a tremendous job of beautifying the waterfront. A great place to spend a few hours by the water and grab a draft and some good grub.

Thank dhurstnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Off our cruise ship on a gray rainy day - decided to take Harbourwalk since it offered walking access to both the Maritime Museum and the Harbor ferry which we had planed to see and ride. Obvousily the Broadwalk area is built for better weather conditions as most shops and food pods were closed. But the gloomy skies and wind whipped rain coming off the Halifax inlet gave the Boardwalk a seafaring ambience that resonated well with the surroundings as well as with the harbor ferry ride and the treacherous North Sea life featured at the Maritime museum.

Thank pjp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

With direct access from the cruise terminal to the casino, the boardwalk is a nice way to while away an hour or so, as long as the weather is not too bad.

With plenty of places to eat, drink and shop along its length, it's a pleasant place to visit

Thank Banjo191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We walked the boardwalk after disembarking from our ship. There were plenty of interesting vendors and seafood restaurants as well
as well as local vendors. There were many art installations as well. Allow an hour.

Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Open 24 hours a day, the boardwalk runs from the Halifax Seaport in the south, some 3km to the Casino Nova Scotia in the north. In September 2018 when we visited a section had been replaced with a floating pontoon because of building work. It was a tad wobbly but nothing an able-bodied visitor couldn’t handle and it easily accommodated pushchairs and two streams of crossing pedestrians. The only working vessels to operate from the waterfront are pilot boats, but crafts of all sizes dot the waters of the bay, including the ferries crossing to the other side.

There’s a lovely vibe, particularly on a warm summer’s evening and it’s a great introduction to Halifax with lots to see and do, including for children. I particularly liked the disorderly street lamps on South Battery Pier near Bishop’s Landing. The boardwalk provides an easy (level) way to see some of the city’s shops (Bishop’s Landing); eateries; museums (three notable ones found along its length are the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, Pier 21 immigration museum and the museum ship HMCS Sackville); historic properties; Halifax’s Farmer’s Market and tour boats. There’s also a wide choice of bars and eateries ranging from take away stalls to upmarket restaurants and brasseries, as well as a number of children’s play areas.

Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are a lot of cute little shacks that sell unique food and tourist items and a lot of monuments. Though, many shacks were closed in October, it would be a really great place to wander in summer.

Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visit the waterfront every time we go to Halifax. Love walking along the waterfront. The water bridge is great fun and the hammocks are great. This summer they had swimming in the harbour. Love the city.

Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice and well-maintained boardwalk. Unlike many of the boardwalks I’ve been to, this is the most peaceful, in part due to it being less lively. The foregoing is likely due to the population of the city and the number of visiting tourists. From the standpoint of having quality restaurants, cafes, bars, touristy shops, and picturesque Halifax Harbour views, it is very good. The locals here are maritime-friendly and about the best it gets in people-quality.

Thank KodoDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews