We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great to have a kitchen for a week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great to have a kitchen for a week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

What can I say about this hotel? Our stay overall was good. Here are my pros & cons of staying here:

On the pro side, the suite had an excellent kitchen with regular-size fridge, fully stocked with dishes, pots & pans, utensils, etc. We ended up going to a grocery store and buying real for for the entire week (we stayed for 6 nights). Our bedroom had a huge and very comfortable bed. Our suite was clean and had 2 TVs (on in each room). Lots of natural light coming through the windows.

On the negative, the layout of the suit was a bit odd... To get to the closet one has to go through the bathroom (only access). Also, we stayed with family, so some of us slept on the couch and to use the bathroom, one must go through the bedroom (again, only access). That was kind of inconvenient.

The breakfast food selection was okay, but could have been much better (though breakfast is included in the place, so I guess at least you get that).

If you drive a big car (we had a Ford truck), it might not fit inside their parking garage and you will have to find own parking (which could pose a problem downtwon Halifax).

The biggest negative for us was the location of our suite. We were travelling with a 1.5-year old baby, which meant earlier bed time. However, our bedroom windows (all 3 of them) looked out onto a busy corner of Sackville and Argyle Streets. This turned out to be the party block with people yelling and laughting and chatting loudly well past 2 am! (we were on the 1st floor, though it's situated much higher above the ground on that side)

It might be alright if just adults are on the trip because the location on the hotel is excellent and close to everything.

Room Tip: If travelling with small children, ask for a room away from the Sackville & Argyle corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    126
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
83
121
22
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Nice location, almost in the heart of the city. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and the waterfront. The hot breakfast is very good, ambience is like in a restaurant. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel has a rooftop as well which is nice to hang around and have some drinks. Staff are friendly, courteous and helpful - typical of maritime hospitality. I always like coming to Halifax where you can meet genuine people!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comp-aliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here just 1 night, but it was so easy to view the Tall Ships, go back to the hotel for a drink, go out for supper, , go back to hotel and change, go out to watch the fireworks, etc. There is a small rooftop deck where we spent some time relaxing in the sun and having a drink, there was no one else there! When we went back after the fireworks, there must have been a few people watching from here as there were lots of empty bottles...
Very clean, all kitchen items included. Make sure to lift up the arm of the icemaker so that it does't wake you in the night. Mostly quiet, just sirens that I could here, street noise tends to drone out. A/C was super quiet! Parking was $19 which we managed to secure at 11am, and our room was ready then too! Daily local and Toronto papers.
A Halifax guide to restaurants, attractions in the room would be nice.Pillows are too soft for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmerrimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just ended our second stay this year at this hotel. As noted by others, good restaurants and attractions are easily walkable from this location. Our second visit was slightly less satisfactory for two reasons. First, on arrival (about 10:30 p.m. on a Thursday), although there was a flurry of front desk staff about, the one tasked with checking people in wasn't available within a couple of minutes (she seemed to be talking to a client/colleague in the office space behind the front desk. Second, our first morning there was also the first morning's use of the refurbished Hearth Room for the complimentary breakfast. This room remains too small for the number of people trying to use it and they've added an "on deck" area of chairs (in front of the unavoidable flat screen tv) for those waiting for a table. A better solution might be to make available trays for those who might wish to take their breakfast selection back up to their room, as there's a table in each one. Proximity to some local pubs can also be a negative: although I'm a sound sleeper, my wife was able to hear significant street noise at closing time.

This hotel is still a good choice and, as of early July, it's competitively priced but be aware that some "breakfast room choreography" may be needed to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast. Appreciated the complimentary newspapers and free internet (password required). We moved to the Delta Halifax which is older and north of the city centre but still within easy walking range of the waterfront and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want a water view from this hotel, ask for a room no lower than the third floor. For example...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passagerare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,677 - ₹ 12,681
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing