We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We checked in on Saturday evening-- pleasant weather. This was a central spot for night life. Many bistros within 3 blocks-- sidewalk dining and drinking. We walked to the harbour in 5 minutes. The city park was 5 minutes. The room and breakfast were great. The only problem is the underground parking-- very small spaces. The harbour view from the 4th floor was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drwayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious - breakfast was typical...There were no surprises. I wish I'd noticed on tripadvisor that there was a rooftop patio - no one mentioned it and we would have really enjoyed an outside area...

Umbrellas are available for use at the front desk - another guest told me...for this reason and no mention of an outside area, I give the front desk a lower rating than most Residence Inn's that we have stayed at...

The hotel is well-located within walking distance to the waterfront and many restaurants and attractions. We would stay here again - we collect marriott rewards :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank play_it_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed in the Sheraton Four Pojts hotels from Monday to Friday (company booked that hotel); and, I was able to get this hotel for the week end for $62 on Priceline (what a great deal). The room was large and comfortable. The bed could have been larger; but, it was very confortable. The air in the rooom was much better than the Four points, for some reason; and, the heating/cooling system was not as loud. The bars outside did create more local noise (many drunk youth on the week ends); but, it was quieter than the heating/cooling system at the Four points. The parking was a reserved spot instead of a free for all; and, the free breakfast was very good. The free wireless was a bonus. A great stay overall; and, for half the price of the Four point, as it turned out for me.

The location is also very good (Right where you want to be). Even if you want to get drunk at the local bars. Or even if you want to just see the sights with the family, you can do whatver you want.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms are the same; so, all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtwoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just returned after a 2 night stay. Good location, clean large rooms and friendly service. Good buffet breakfast. We went down a little bit later to beat the rush and the servers were still serving and stocking hot and fresh. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and go to the breakfast a bit later and beat the rush
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed 4 nights while in Halifax. Location is fantastic for exploring downtown Halifax on foot. Everything is in walking distance. Parking is extra ($19/day) but I liked that you are assigned a spot.
Our room was huge and included a fully equipped kitchen. Nicely decorated and upscale.
Our stay was excellent except for the cattle call for breakfast. Very poorly designed breakfast area resulted in a congested mess of people tripping over each other. The breakfast is great and deluxe but having to navigate around the myriad of people to get your food and then to be lucky enough to find a place to actually sit down is ridiculous.
For this reason alone I might reconsider ever staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyGryphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: ₹ 8,520 - ₹ 16,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing