We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service during covid”

Los Toros Autentico Espanol
Ranked #515 of 707 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Description: 'Bringing you the taste of the authentic Spanish cuisine at the heart of Halifax. We take pride in our unique dishes and we constantly seek to perfect timeless recipes. Come and discover an array of traditional Spanish flavours to delight your senses .'
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time in NS and arrived on a late afternoon/evening flight. Staying at the Marriott Halifax and walked over in the area to find a decent place to eat dinner with our three teens. We loved the service and really enjoyed the meal. Not authentic spanish cuisine but we didn't expect this. The items we ordered were delicious and they accommodated my fussy teen! Our server was Paul and deserves a 5 star rating for his excellent customer service. I would recommend for casual tapas.. a bit expensive but I'm used to this during covid. Churros with chocolate dip is a must! Thank you Paul for your fantastic service!!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CanadaFamilytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

The only reason I put 2 stars is because there is nothing authentic about this restaurant . We were 5 Adults mainly all born in Spain and not one out of the 5 dishes was authentic Spanish cuisine . The food was not bad and we ate everything but simply not authentic. The chorizo in a dish of chicken with chorizo was not chorizo but more like the Italian fennel sausages . I actually thought it was a mushroom when I first put n in my mouth . The 5 of us actually visit Valencia yearly where paella comes from and have never ever seen chorizo or eggs in a paella . The pulpo(octopus) a la gallega was dry and looked fried . The scallops were good but the sauce had some spice that was definitely not Spanish.
Again, we ate fairly well but disappointed in the non authentic Spanish cuisine .

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

We had paella for the main course. The saffron rice and flavourings were very good, however all seafood /chicken/chorizo ingredients were very overcooked and dry. Very disappointing. In addition, the octopus app was very tough and unenjoyable. Again though, the sauce and seasoning were good Seafood prep sure needs work. Churros and chocolate dip great.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2021

We visited the restaurant on January 23rd, and were very pleased with our experience. Although it is new, there was very few signs of it being new. Nothing of consequence.

We started off with a glass of sangria - it was lovely! Fresh fruit, and well presented. Tasty! Our calamari (Calamares a la Romana) was nicely prepared, and the scallops (Vieiras) were delightful. The starters were very well presented.

We ordered the Paella Marinera to share for our main. Although the menu says it takes 30 mins, we were warned by our server that it would be less. We had a good amount of time to have our starters before the paella arrived. It was amazing! Very well presented as well. Large and meaty seafood, and very flavourful rice. I highly suggest it! We enjoyed it with some Garnacha as well.

We finished off with the Chocolate con Churros. The hot chocolate was a perfectly thick dip for the churros - it was very rich, but a very nice ending to a great meal.

We enjoyed the great service, the friendly waitstaff, and the wide variety of both food and beverage offerings.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank halichk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2021

We were looking forward to this experience but frankly very disappointing...the dark decor does not resemble what you think of Spain and the food was very disappointing. Dishes were served overcooked and barely warm...exited to try the crispy potatoes but they were far from crispy. When some of these complaints were mentioned to server nothing was offered to compensate for the major lack of the whole experience. Wont be going back anytime soon...would like to try the paella but afraid to give it another try. They have much work to improve in order to be successful...

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank lindadP9474ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Los Toros Autentico Espanol also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Los Toros Autentico Espanol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.