We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good suite, center of town, no parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I rented a large suite which was perfect for a wedding photography workshop I was teaching. The hotel was a nice, standard Radission right in the heart of Halifax. It is not super super close to many restaurants, but it's central and you can drive anywhere nearby. The only problem was that the hotel doesn't offer parking (except valet) and you have to walk with your heavy bags about two blocks from the main parking garage (which was completely full since we arrived on a weekday and we were lucky to get one of the last spots). It was a pain to go back and forth to do anything with the car.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travellers.

As you mentioned we are located in a great spot in downtown Halifax, with many of Halifax's attractions, and great restaurants within just a couple minute's walk away.

I am sorry to hear of your frustrations surrounding our parking situation. However, on any furture stays should you require access to your vehicle at any point one of our Bellmen would be more than happy to bring your vehicle around or retrieve something from it for you. We are also happy to help you unload your vehicle and park it for you so you do not have to walk from the parking location with your luggage.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share you views with us. Feedback such as yours is an invaluable tool we use to fine tune our opertations.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,347 - 1,351 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

Title says it all - lovely big suites, friendly staff, will definately stay here again

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Flhrcitwotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your views with us and other travellers!

Not only are we lucky to be in such a great downtown location, but we are Halifax's only all suite property so we are able to feature spacious, comfortable suites for our guests.

We certainly pride ourselves on ensuring each and every guest is well taken care of during their time with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Halifax area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here two nights. Loved our stay, excellent suites, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Spacious room, great amenities, pub/restaurant on site. Nice to have guest laundromat ($1 a load), micro and frig in suite. Lovely stay, would be our first choice in Halifax.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travellers. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
We have an excellent team here at the hotel and pride ourselves on ensuring each and every guest has a great experience during their time with us.
Not only do we have the advantage of being in a prime downtown location, being Halifax's only all suite property we offer our guests spacious accommodations with many amenities to make their stay as comfortable and seamless as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Halifax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Great service,location and nice rooms. Great stay. Internet a tad slow. Great location close to pier. Verify rates, 5 of us checked and we were all quoted different rates. My rate went from$179 to $139 per night.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Gg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers!
We pride ourselves on our level of care provided to our guests. I am pleased to hear you were well taken care of and enjoyed your time with us.
We certainly are lucky to be in such a great location with the waterfront just steps away and easy access to many great downtown locations.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Halifax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Nice clean hotel, suite provides plenty of room, excellent service. Not a fan of the sleep number bed. Staff were excellent. Parking is a bit of a problem unless you use valet which is very convienient but an extra charge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#4 of 28 in Halifax
3,125 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: ₹ 7,526 - ₹ 16,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing