We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable, tidy and friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A very comfortable, tidy and friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages is a very pleasant place to stay. The staff provides a clean and comfortable experience as well as a great conversation at breakfast which was included. As a business traveler, I found the facility to be equipped with reliable and fast wifi. I plan to bring my family here in the summer to stay a day or two, swim in the pool and enjoy the beautiful, historic sites of Shelburne.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    46
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
68
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed at MacKenzies on and off for the better part of a month while working in Shelburne. I stayed in both the upstairs suite and the yellow cottage. Both were beautiful! The upstairs suite had a amazing jacuzzi tub and full kitchen. The yellow cottage definitely seemed to be the newest, had tons of space, a deck that looked right on it's own little pond and again a full kitchen and great bathroom.
Jim and Sandra were wonderful hosts and even introduced me to my first taste of moose. I would definitely say this is the place to stay in Shelburne! I'm already planning on going back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed a few days here in April and everything about the place was just as described. A very nice place to stay with all the things necessary for a home away from home. Stayed in one of the cottages. Very convenient to town. Jim and Sandra are lovely people and will make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian-Soloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I just wanted to thank the staff for an outstanding job of hosting our basketball team this past weekend. Great service, great hospitality, gerat people and excellent deals. We had the best deal at MacKenzie Cottages then all of the other locations. We would highly recommened this to anyone who vacations in Shelburne,
thanks again for showing us a great time!!!

Room Tip: rooms in general are great. I would recommend the cottages as opposed to the rooms for more room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband is originally from Shelburne. We have stayed at Mackenzie's many times. I travel around the province on business and plan a stay at Mackenzie's whenever possible. There are a variety of accommodations; motel units, luxury suites and cottages. We usually stay in the suites but last night chose a cottage. Wonderful! The owners travel and it shows in the comfort of this property. The beds are high quality, rooms clean and the extras that make for a comfortable visit available (sufficient wine glasses, good breakfast.) The feeling is warm and welcoming much like the owners. If you are traveling on the south shore stay at Mackenzie's and have dinner at Charlotte Lane Cafe. A great get away.

Room Tip: Cottage 16 is wheelchair accessible and great. We like the suite upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.3 km away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#1 of 2 in Shelburne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.1 km away
Cooper's Inn
Cooper's Inn
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.2 km away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#3 of 5 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
23.3 km away
Whispering Waves Cottages
19.1 km away
Lockeport Landing B&B and Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages

Property: Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Address: 260 Water Street, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,947 - ₹ 7,481
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacKenzie's has been family-owned for decades and offers the best of Nova Scotia's intimate cottages, affordable motel and luxury suites in a park-like, brook-side setting in a great location in the centre of town... something for every taste and budget! Free breakfast and wireless internet is included in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Hotel Shelburne
Mackenzie's Motel And Cottages Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing