We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for aurora!”
Review of Narwal B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Narwal B&B
Ranked #7 of 24 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This lovely cosy place deserves much more than its present ranking.
We went for aurora in Yellowknife and were certainly not disappointed. While within walking distance to both New Town (20+ minutes) and Old Town (10 minutes), its proximity to the lakeside and quiet and dark neighbourhood makes Narwal the ideal location for aurora viewing and photography, literally from the window of the room. (We were staying in Polar Bear Suite.) It was freezing cold for us in March, and we virtually waited, with lights out, inside our room until we saw glimpses of green before putting on our downs to run out for ideal photographic positions. We have the entire lakeside to ourselves, except we did hear noises from distance (probably from Bush Pilot's Monument) who like us were astonished at the sight of the dancing curtains of aurora in green and purple. We stayed for three nights and were lucky enough to see aurora on two consecutive nights.
Cathy is an excellent host, who happens to be a great chef too. (Very yummy homemade breakfast.) Naughty dog Benny had always wanted to go out. Make sure you keep him in. : )
The attached kitchen is only simply equipped with an oven-toaster, a microwave, a kettle and a coffee-making machine. No open fire. The nearby NWT Brewery (5 minutes on foot) was an excellent choice for dinner.
Taxi from/to airport was CAD$20 one-way.
I whole-heartedly recommend.

Room Tip: The two en-suites should be able to see aurora from room. Polar Bear is great for this purpose.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Narwal B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2017

The Narwal B & B is located in Old Town and it is very convenient to go anywhere in Yellowknife. Restaurants and galleries are within walking distance. The bus stop is about 10 min walk from Narwal.
The host is warm and friendly. We came in winter and we were pleasantly surprised to see an igloo outside the B & B. Cathy, the host, and her son built it! We had the opportunity to sit in the igloo and warm ourselves.
There is a varieties of beverages and snacks available in the kitchen for guests! There are toaster, microwave, refrigerator, coffee percolator and a small oven. Juice and cereals available too.

We saw the northern lights in Yellowknife but not from the B & B.

In summer, there are a whole lot of activities which the host offers. It maybe a good time to return in summer and try the other activities .


Stayed: January 2017
Thank FamousFive_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, Manager at Narwal B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! I hope you visit me again in the summer or fall :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This B&B is in a great location to walk all around. Walk right out on to the dock and watch the Northern Lights! Lovely place! Remember not to let the dogs out! You can rent a canoe right there! Yummy breakfasts. Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Narwal B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Hello,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay! I am very lucky to have such quick and easy access to the water. I never tired of the views!

I hope you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

A perfect place in yellowknife. we are greeted with a very warm welcome and the location is perfect. you can walk to old town ( it is in the old town!) restaurants and galleries. the rooms are confortable and cosy.
the breakfast was very tasty and our hosts were very generous with local information . we really enjoyed our stay and would go back without hesitation
we were there in july , i think it would be an amazing place in the winter with the northern lights. the B&B owners also run northern light excursions. sound and looks like it needs to be on a bucket list!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of great slave lake
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dreperron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Narwal B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Hello,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Yellowknife feels like a whole new world in the winter. There are plenty of fun activities! I hope you visit us again and experience my hometown in its different seasons.

Kind regards,

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

It's on the Bay, so be prepared for gorgeous views, wildlife galore, and opportunities for kayak, canoe, and camping trips, all offered by the B and B. Cathy, the hostess/owner, is wonderfully low-key and really welcoming. The kitchenette has a kettle, teapot, coffeemaker, convection toaster oven and fridge. Easy to walk to Sunlines convenience store, and Your Independent Grocer, so you can cook and eat in, if desired. Cathy provides a lovely, healthy and delicious continental breakfast- we had muffins, mine-quiche, French Toast, and more. Mention any dietary preference and Cathy will tailor to your needs. The premises are scrupulously clean and tidy; cleaned every day by a smiling, efficient crew. You can socialize or be left alone, it's up to you. There's a TV with DVD and VCR, lots of movies to choose from, and a really good library of books. Free WIFI also included. Beds and linens were cozy and comfortable. I will send any guests in Yellowknife to Narwal!

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, Owner at Narwal B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Hi Nora, I am so glad you and John enjoyed your stay, including the views and my little breakfast treats. Please do drop by for coffee next time you are in town!
Best regards,
Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.6 km away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
287 reviews
1.0 km away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
428 reviews
0.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
26 reviews
3.2 km away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
238 reviews
1.0 km away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narwal B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narwal B&B

Address: 4702 Anderson-Thomson Blvd, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Price Range: ₹ 6,039 - ₹ 7,516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Great Slave Lake, this bed and breakfast offers ski-to-door access. Free Wi-Fi is provided in all guest rooms. Yellowknife city centre is 5 minutes' drive away. A fridge is offered in all rooms at NARWAL B&B. Each room is decorated with local artwork. Two shared bathrooms are provided for guest use. A kitchenette and dining area are provided for guest use at NARWAL . Continental self-serve breakfast is offered daily and includes freshly baked muffins, cereals and juice. A flat-screen TV with DVD player is featured in the guest lounge. A library is available. The Northern Lights can be viewed from this property. Yellowknife Airport is 15 minutes' drive away. Yellowknife Golf Club is 3km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Narwal B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing