We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Yellowknife
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Inuvik
1 review
“Great overall place to stay.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The Super 8 is conveniently located next to Tim Horton's, Mark's Work Wear House and across the parking lot is Wal-mart. The hospital and clinics are across the road and the BMO bank is within walking distance. The rooms are comfortable and clean, great beds, a small fridge/freezer and a microwave in each room plus continental breakfast. Being able to do your laundry there is a definate plus. There's also a large freezer for folks travelling to freeze their larger items. The whole building being smoke free really makes it family oriented. I recomend this hotel to anyone staying in Yellowknife for overall convenience and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Guest Services Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Good Afternoon;
Thank you so much for your recent review. I agree with your comments regarding our location. We are very well situated with the most common shopping areas within walking distance, some just steps from our front door. We do pride ourselves on being 100% smoke free and to my knowledge we are the only 100% smoke free accomodation in Yellowknife which is a definate plus for our guests. Again I appreciate your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    99
    48
    16
    6
See reviews for
45
34
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lutsel K'e, NT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

When we first arrived in Yellowknife five years ago from southern Ontario, we stayed at the Super 8 for 10 days before moving to our remote destination. We travelled with two small dogs whom the staff treated royally. As with many people in the North, I fly to many destinations frequently for work purposes, and have always found the management, staff, and facilities attentive to my, and our family's, various needs. It is our accommodation of choice for our family and friends who visit throughout the year. Over the past Christmas Break, our son stayed over night en route to Montreal. He left his cell phone behind and did not realize it until he checked into security at the airport. We knew about his phone issue before he did, as we received an email from the manager asking for direction as to where to send it. Our son received the phone a week later, by mail. There are a number of hotel options in Yellowknife. We prefer to stay here as it is close to the airport, shopping, hospitals, and restaurants, all without having to go into town. And breakfast is even supplied! We recommend the Yellowknife Super 8 to anyone travelling because of its comfort, relative affordability, and peripheral amenities. With advanced notice, pets are welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are equipped with fridge, microwave, and coffee service. Junior suite has two rooms. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Guest Services Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Super 8 Motel. It makes me very pleased that you originally stayed with us 5 years ago, and to date you still return time and time again. It is also a very rewarding feeling to know that our staff are doing such a great job in accomodating you during your stay, and beyond. I thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I travel on business to Yellowknife frequently and have stayed at all of the hotels at one time or another. There is a reason i continue to go back to the Super8 - the staff are very friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable, and they do all they can to accomodate requests. The microwave and fridge in each room allows a travellor to heatup things in the room itself as going out for dinner can get tiring after awhile.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Super 8 Motel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEELER
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

first time there the place was nice. i would go back i have nothing to complain about

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Super 8 Motel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Over the past couple of years, I have spent numerous nights at Super 8, Yellowknife, and I have yet to have a bad experience. While working in the North, with a cross-country commute can have its challenges, I have absolutely NEVER been treated anything less than special at the Super 8.
As part of the Logistics Team at Sabina Gold and Silver, we arranged more than 250 bookings in 2011, with a significant number of those involving multiple nights, and I have yet to hear a negative comment regarding the staff at Super 8.

They have bent over backwards on many occasions to accomodate us, with cancellled flights in to camp - sometimes checking out and back in within the hour. For such an accommodating, and flexible group, one might expect an anything goes approach. Not this group. They are consummate professionals.

From the night staff at the counter, to the folks that prepare and clean my room, to the General Manager - they are an awesome crowd!

We could never do what we do without their support.

Wayne Keeping
Logistics Coordinator
Sabina Gold and Silver Corporation
www.sabinagoldsilver.com

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the drive through are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Yellowknife, General Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Wayne, it's a pleasure every year when Sabina Gold & Silver Corp resumes their mining operations in the North and we again have the opportunity to serve those needs. We look forward to a long and successful relationship again this year and for many years to come. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
2.2 km away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
418 reviews
2.4 km away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
271 reviews
2.2 km away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
177 reviews
0.2 km away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
26 reviews
1.6 km away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Yellowknife

Property: Super 8 Yellowknife
Address: 308 Old Airport Rd, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 3T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,676 - ₹ 11,760
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Yellowknife 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing modern flair with frontier-style informality, Super 8 Yellowknife is a 100% non-smoking establishment. We are pleased to offer our valued guests complimentary Continental Breakfast, in-room high speed wireless internet for those guests who provide their own laptop, mini-fridges and microwaves in all rooms, Busines Centre, Fitness Room, free parking with some winter plug-ins, and pet-friendly rooms. Adjacent to Walmart, Tim Horton's and Marks Work Warehouse, you will find numerous restaurants and nature trails within a short walk from the hotel.Stay with us on your next trip to Yellowknife.We're...Friendly. Clean. And Simply Super!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Yellow Knife Hotel Yellowknife
Super Eight Yellowknife
Yellowknife Super 8
Yellowknife Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing