We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Captain's Quarters

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Quarters
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We have been staying at the Captains Quarters for 10 years. Wonderful place to stay. The employees are great and can not do enough for their guests. It is like going back in time where everyone respects and is courtious to one another. No it is not a 5 star hotel, but you get treated alot better than any of the chains. Good breakfasts, clean rooms, close to everything. We love it there, and we will go back to the Captains Quarters anytime we are in St. Johns.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ennismore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    6
    4
    15
See reviews for
6
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My wife, son and my self reserved for 3 nights, but we decided to stay 2 nights instead. The beds screeched so bad that everyone else woke up if one of us went to bathroom at midnight. The room smelled smoke so bad. We could not figure out what was wrong with the lady manning both front desk and breakfast. We said good morning and thank you to her, butt she never looked at us in the eye and did not say hi to us at all. I asked for tea and she was not happy because she made coffee for guests already. My wife wanted a glass of orange juice. She picked up a used glass. My wife pointed it out to her immediately. We had paid 3 nights. Instead giving us one day refund, she charged me another day. Then she corrected it with reluctance being told. Too expensive for a hotel like that (C$91 a day including tax), the service we got.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank YorkRegionYnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Maple Ridge, B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

Wonderful people, excellent location, clean rooms, great price and loads of character (the building and the people)! We had booked our first nights stay at a well-known chain hotel that was not nearly as friendly, clean or as reasonably priced as the Captain's Quarters and were thrilled to find this hotel on our first day in St. John's. We happily moved and were not disappointed. The staff were helpful and even pulled some strings to get us last minute reservations at one of St. John's best restaurants. If you want to feel like you're a part of 'down-home Newfoundland', then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Character, Staff and Price
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank c-stand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2006

Stayed at the Captains Quarters for one night on our way home to the UK, very friendly staff and in an excellent location for Signal Hill and the nightlife of George Street, they even allowed us to keep one of our rooms until 9 o'clock in the evening as our flight didn't take off until midnight

Helpful?
1 Thank comex1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2006

We stayed at the Captain's Quarters for 4 nights in 2005.
It was our first trip to St. John's. We had no real complaints about the hotel, but at the same time I'd warn people not to expect a 4 star hotel experience. The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. I'd compare the rooms and accommodations to a well kept Motel 6 or Super 8 here in the states- well worth it for the budget conscious traveler and perfect for our needs, but possibly not for people who are expecting a lot of added amenities.
The hotel is located on the edge of the downtown area and within walking distance to George Street and the other downtown attractions, as well as Signal Hill. The staff was helpful offering suggestions on how to get around and the bar downstairs was pleasant. We were a bit concerned when we checked in because of the bar location, but even with a bar on the main floor, the rooms were relatively quiet.
The only thing the hotel didn't have that might have been nice was screens on the windows and perhaps a second fan--we were there on an unusually hot week for Newfoundland and while we weren't in the room much during the day, at night we had to have a fan running in the window and since it didn't have a screen, we did get a number of moths entering the room.
Overall it was a pleasant experience and we plan on staying there again on our trip to Newfoundland this year.
We checked out other hotels in the city on our 2005 trip and while some of the other added amenities would be nice, no other hotel could beat the Captain’s Quarters combination of price and location.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank johnbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
The Guv'nor Inn
#19 of 22 in St. John's
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
776 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters

Property: Captain's Quarters
Address: 2 King's Bridge Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,560 - ₹ 5,543
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Hotel
Captains Quarters St Johns
Captain's Quarters Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing