We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
38
26
13
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
26
13
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enclosed hallway wood paneled walls one night up to date room was clean tv microwave pine downtown canada hosts
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We had a very nice time.. The room was comfortable, clean,good size for the 2 of us, had a refrigerator and, since we were in the back, had a nice (yet distant) view across to the harbor area of St John. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol06040CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Just the sort of kitschy hotel I love to find. On this hill west of downtown with a view from the back of water and boats from a distance. It's the sort of motel where you can park right by your room whether in the front or back. The rooms in the back (not a lovely surrounding area but felt safe) are bordered by an enclosed hallway with large windows - maybe for when there's weather. The rooms are dated - in a charming way - all wood-paneled walls - beflowered bedspread. The room was clean. Stocked with a fridge and maybe even a microwave? Also a desk and two chairs. The bathtub was gurgling when I arrived but stopped. Poor selection of channels on the TV but that was true of every place I stayed in Canada. Good smell.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

They don't care about your experience, period. Huge disconnects between Experian booking and what you are told at check in - bed type, room cost.. and sorry no cancellation. The room has a door that is locked from the other side with noises came through late at the night. Upside- you won't take it for granted what you will find in a decent hotel, ever.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

What a lovely and helpful motel.

We were in St John for a curling tournament Fri-Sun and booked to stay here overnight on the Saturday as we had been told we'd have an early start on the Sunday. We'd planned to travel home on the Friday night as the Saturday start was supposed to be later.

After arriving at the tournament and playing our first game on the Fri, we found that the schedule changed and we were due an early start on the Saturday instead and a late start on the Sunday (meaning we couldn't actually stay for that game due to prior arrangements). I phoned the motel to ask if we could switch our booking and stay that night and switch our booking. I was prepared to be told I'd have to pay twice as it was within the 24 hour non-cancellation period.

The owner couldn't have been more helpful. He swapped our booking, upgraded our room as he had a larger one available and assured me he'd cancel the Saturday night booking with no charge.

The rooms are very clean and all you'd require for a budget hotel. The bathroom was spotless.

Perfect for what we required, great customer service. Would recommend and stay again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank LindsRussell-Samways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This hotel is located outside of the city, but it's a very quick ride to downtown. Lots of stores fairly close to hotel. Room was "very" clean, and appeared to be recently renovated, but this may be because of the way they take care of property. Price was also reasonable. I would have scored a bit higher if the mattress was a better quality. It was a very stiff mattress without much cushion. Very pleasant owners as well.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vito A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews