We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,188)
Filter reviews
1,188 results
Traveller rating
430
412
203
97
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
412
203
97
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market square convention center harbour view breakfast buffet underground parking water view new brunswick location is great restaurants and shops business trip front desk staff great room room was spacious harbour station downtown area nova scotia reversing falls
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,188 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We got off to a bad start when the 1 Market Square address takes you no where... but a block from where hotel actually is! We called the hotel and the receptionist said we had the wrong address.... well then why does Hilton use the incorrect address in confirmation email and even on TripAdvisor??? Apparently the hotel is on Smythe St....not Market Square!

Receptionist was less than friendly on the phone and not very helpful or cordial with our check in.

Room was fine ... location very close to ferry terminal (St John to Digby) and it took only 8 minutes at 6:30 am.

Parking was $18 and very confusing to get from garage into hotel with poor signage... made it seem that we were in a convention center.

Not my favorite Hilton property!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank DSBAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot C, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

DSBAA
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the confusion with the 1 Market Square address. The hotels main entrance (civic address) is 75 Smythe Street. GPS coordinates are linked to 75 Smythe, however if you enter 1 Market Square as the destination you will end up one block away. As the parking garage is underneath both the hotel and the Convention Centre we can understand the need for additional signage and will certainly look at enhancing the signage for both. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for a great location, this is it! It has beautiful rooms with lots to do in the area. I felt very comfortable walking by myself along the Harbor. There is a small indoor mall with many attached restaurants. There is also a beavertail food truck nearby. We had dinner as a group and they handled it very well.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot C, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lana S
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very pleased that you and your group enjoyed your time in Saint John and took the time to walk the Harbour Passage trail and enjoy the many restaurants along the boardwalk. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your Maritime tour and look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A stay of a few nights while visiting relatives, big room with 2 double beds space to sit as well and a a very reasonable rate
I would go back
We had a room with a view of the harbour which would have been better if the weather had not been overcast
Their food options downstairs are as good as the room

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank murraygellatly2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot C, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

murraygellatly2017
Thank you for your very positive review. We are very pleased that you found the room comfortable and large. We have shared your feedback on the York Bistro with Chef Pierre who is very appreciative of your recognition. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

stayed in the Hilton, Saint John, NB for two nights. everything was perfect ie staff, meals in the York, convenient location, and parking(able to park and walk through a walkway to the hotel without getting wet during the rainstorm while we were there.
However, I called in the evening several months prior to my booking and spoke with a very helpful staff member, Michaeal Davidov, who gave us several excellent suggestions.
Without him we might have stayed at a less convenient location in Saint John or had other problems during our stay. He was most helpful and I highly recommend this hotel for your stay. You can't beat the location and the view facing the water and the city.

Room Tip: water or city view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot C, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

adsinger
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have passed along your thanks to Michael who is delighted that you found the hotel location and facilities perfect for your needs in Saint John. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Convenient parking, great 12pm checkout, friendly staff, enjoyable pool and exercise room, definitely opt for the breakfast when booking the room, great value and selection, fire 'pits' in the patio overlooking the water made for a great evening in the restaurant, perfect location for uptown and even for visiting the reversing falls if you enjoy long walks

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dan-son-of-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot C, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dan
Its great to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us while in Saint John. We agree that the fire pits on the Patio are great to sit beside as you enjoy the harbor views. I imagine the Patio will be packed again this evening as guests wave farewell to the Anthem of the Seas which is currently anchored next to us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Saint John. Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews