We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of Chateau Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Saint John
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2017

This is a very beautiful place. I would even consider it luxury. The room was big with nice decour and bathroom. It is very easy to find. However, I had an unpleasant incident while checking in. A gentleman at the counter gave us the keys and I asked him if the windows were facing the yard rather than the main street. He replied exactly this: "Yes, coz that's what you get when you pay cheap.." and then he realized he said something wrong and switched the topic. Well, first of all - I did not pay cheap - I am not sure what their income is but I doubt they can afford staying at this place more than once a year. Second, yes, I looked for better deals and waited for discounts, I booked through Expedia so why should I be mistreated or punished for this in any way? but now I realize that that's the way the hotels work - they see that you went for deals that traveling websites offer and they give you the worst rooms they have. And the most ironic thing is that I wanted the room facing the yard because I did not want all the noise from the highway. So he did not need to say anything but this experience was definitely an eye-opener in so many ways. I wanted to talk to the manager but they were away that day and I did not want to go back to this later. So overall - it's a nice place to stay but some of their staff needs to work on their customer service skills.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexei N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

4 - 8 of 586 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Comfortable rooms. Coffee machine good breakfast and adequate fitness room
Explored the fundy trail and Saint John so didn't need fancy hotel
The market was fun
Free car park and very helpful staff
Went to comedy club which was good night out. Ate at billies fish restaurant which was ok

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Hi, I recently stayed at the Chateau St-John and to describe the place in one word “Perfect” it location, it’s amenities, it’s staff, it’s services, bedding, rooms. Etc.... I can’t fault them on anything. Highly recommended. No, I’m not paid to write this review, it’s really what I feel about this location, and I have travel quite a bit. It’s not a 10 star, but it’s not it’s intention, it’s down to earth accommodations.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located a bit away from downtown, which may be its only drawback for pedestrians.

The rooms are large and comfortable, and sleep came easily.
Convenient parking on premises at no cost. Breakfast was very good. Staff was accommodating and helpful.

It’s surprising that a hotel of this size doesn’t have a dining restaurant.

One suggestion would be to add grab bars to the showers to make them safer.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank J--Harpswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The hotel was easy to find. (The only easy thing to find in St. John). The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good and the staff was very helpful selecting restaurants for us. They also helped us get to St. Andrews for whale watching.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank seterry3188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
4.5 km away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Delta Hotels Saint John
Delta Hotels Saint John
#6 of 19 in Saint John
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
1,099 reviews
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
5 km away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Saint John? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Saint John

Address: 369 Rockland Rd, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 3W3, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint John
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#1 Family Hotel in Saint John
Price Range: ₹ 7,468 - ₹ 10,779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're travelling for business or pleasure, we are confident you'll agree that Chateau Saint John - Hotel & Suites exceeds the standard of excellence in Atlantic Canada. We are conveniently located downtown Saint John, N.B. (Exit 123) and across from the Harbour Station arena. Designed with travellers in mind, Chateau Saint John - Hotel & Suites has raised the bar on quality, service and comfort. Situated only minutes from the famous Reversing Falls and City Market, the hotel pays tribute to Saint John's long and illustrious history (oldest incorporated city in Canada), through its unique decor. Combining the essence of yesterday with the technology of today. Chateau Saint John delivers an unforgettable experience and ambiance. Chateau Saint John - Hotel & Suites wants every guest to feel like he or she is our most important guest. No effort will be spared by our friendly and helpful staff to ensure all your needs and expectations are exceeded. Make your next visit to Saint John unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Saint John Hotel Saint John
Chateau Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing