We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dissapointment”
Review of Saigon Thai

Saigon Thai
Ranked #24 of 283 Restaurants in Moncton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 16
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Restaurant was recommended by our hotel when we requested Thai cuisine.The server was good but there were serious problems with the menu and the management.We both ordered the mango salad a mainstay of any Thai establishment and were told although on the menu it was no longer offered.My salad consisted mainly of iceburg lettuce.An expensive Imperial roll came as a fried spring roll.The soup was to be a complex coconut based thai specialty of the house came as a hot small bowl of flavored coconut milk with no other visible ingredients for near $8.When I pointed out the problems to the server who advised the kitchen not only was there nothing done to re mediate the problems but we were charged full price.I must admit my main course a Thai seafood dish was competently prepared.Overall we left disappointed feeling exploited and cannot recommend this establishment.

1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaigonThai, Manager at Saigon Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi, we are so sorry to hear your disappointment with your experience at Saigon Thai. Please allow us to explain ourselves - the imperial rolls are handmade daily with rice paper, so the price is reflective of the work required in making them. The coconut soup is infused with South East Asian spices and boiled for hours before serving. While we are sorry to hear about your experience, we will take efforts to improve the quality of the soup in the future - we plan on adding more ingredients such as chicken and vegetables. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve our menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

I've only eaten here once and it wasn't busy at all so the service was excellent but the food was also really good. I would gladly eat here again.

Thank k9traveller2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaigonThai, Manager at Saigon Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your first time at Saigon Thai. We hope to deliver more great experiences to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Great staff and service, and no long wait time for orders to arrive at table. Nice decor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaritimeTraveler830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaigonThai, Manager at Saigon Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

So glad to hear that you enjoyed food and atmosphere at Saigon Thai! We hope to see you soon and thank you so much for sharing your your experience with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Make sure this place is open before you head there.
The food is always good here. Service can be slow, though. Good place for takeout if you call ahead. Have the imperial roll!!!

Thank Jenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaigonThai, Manager at Saigon Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks for choosing Saigon Thai! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and the imperial roll!!! :) We also apologize for the inconvenience caused by the service issue and promise to do our very best to fix this issue. Hope to serve you soon and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

I had the curried beef and veg and my husband had the seafood and veg dish. Both were excellent. Our waitress, Lise, was friendly and thoughtful.. The food tasted great with beautiful presentation. We will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mel333Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaigonThai, Manager at Saigon Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

We are glad to hear that you and your husband had a great time at Saigon Thai! We look forward to your return and until then, we wish you all the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saigon Thai also viewed

 
Moncton, New Brunswick
Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Saigon Thai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing