We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice for Budget Travellers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Fredericton
Grand Bay, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Budget Travellers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stayed 5 nights and found the room clean and comfortable with free internet and mini fridge. Appreciated the 24 hour free tea/coffee in the lobby. When we arrived we were informed that they were having a special and so the price of our room had dropped $14 a night! That never happened before. The staff were friendly. They provide a hot breakfast and while what they provided was fine, the menu was too limited. There was no juice or cereal and I really didn't want bacon and eggs 5 days in a row. This motel is old but if, like us, you want clean and comfortable for a good price, this one is worth considering. I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    27
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
28
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

After reading all the great reviews we were a bit disappointed.
On the positive side the rooms were clean and spacious and the beds comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful.
On the down side the lobby and hallways were a bit tired and dingy and did not give a good first impression. It also seems that the motel has a lot of tradesmen staying there and we had to request a change of room since some young guys a couple of rooms away were being quite noisy and boisterous, this was at 5 in the afternoon, so we were worried about later at night.
The staff were very apologetic and moved us to a much nicer room which was quiet.

So as a retired couple who like peace and quiet at the end of the day we would not choose this again. If you are just looking for a reasonably priced place which is clean with comfortable beds close to lots of box stores this would suit you fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobble2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed here three nights in February. For the price this place can't be beat. The room decor is a bit dated, but everything was clean and functioning in the room. The bed was comfortable, the room spacious and with a mini fridge. There is free wireless. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very near to the highway but we were surprised that we could not hear traffic, despite being on the highway side of the hotel. I generally prefer to stay in a downtown area - but it is hard to beat the value the City Hotel offers.
The on-site restaurant (Panda) had great food. There is a takeout menu in the rooms, but there is a more extensive menu (complete with what they call "Chinoserie" - their authentic menu) available in the restaurant..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

The hotel is very convenient to the University of New Brunswick and St Thomas University, since it is a short downhill walk to the campuses. The staff were friendly and the rooms are very spacious.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Totally enjoyed our stay there - staff was extemely friendly and the free 'make your own' breakfast was awesome! Was able to shower, wash my hair - then have a leisurely breakfast wearing a beach coverup (or something simliar) - also had free wireless internet in our room - and there is a computer with intenet access in the lobby. Shopping centre is just across the road (has a Sobey's, liquor store, and much more) - had takeout from Boston Pizza one night (which I would NOT recommend - very poor value even though it was very handy). There is also a bigger shopping centre just across the bridge (easy walking distance).

And the price is right!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericton hotels
0.2 km away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#6 of 20 in Fredericton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.2 km away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Fredericton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#1 of 20 in Fredericton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.6 km away
Ramada Fredericton
Ramada Fredericton
#9 of 20 in Fredericton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Fredericton Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Motel

Property: City Motel
Address: 1216 Regent St, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 3Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Fredericton
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,930 - ₹ 4,847
Hotel Class:2 star — City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free North American Calling! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Motel Fredericton, New Brunswick
City Hotel Fredericton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing