We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to say when traveling through New Brunswick.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fredericton
Reviewed 12 August 2017

If you are traveling and you need a room that is not overpriced, (as we found most hotels in Fredericton were) this is the place. They honour CAA, Government employees, Military discount pricing (this is a big thing to me). Upon arrival I was met by pleasant front desk staff. I am guessing when I say "this is a family run establishment". I approached the front desk with my confirmation in hand and was met with a smile and a Hello. I had no trouble checking in and was promptly taken care of even though the Hotel was fully booked that evening. I inquired about any discounts I could receive and after showing my Military ID and my CAA card, I was given the best discounted price available. Our room was on the second floor (no elevators at this location). We were given a room on the 2nd floor with 2 Queen beds as our party included 3 adults. When we entered the room you could tell it was one that had been recently updated. At check-in we were given the password for the Wifi which we found worked really well. Everything looked clean and the sheets/blankets were clean. This was thoroughly checked out by my wife. Knowing that a free continental breakfast was included in the price was a bonus. As we were traveling from Ottawa, On to Halifax, NS, the location of this hotel was easy to find. It was a short drive off the Trans Canada highway into Fredericton. Getting back on the Trans Canada was no problem as the signage was clearly shown. This hotel was on Prospect street and was very close to a large variety of restaurants and stores/shops to accommodate anyone's needs. A bonus for families is the outdoor pool and the amenities associated with this area. Even though the hotel was fully booked during our stay, we had no issues parking or noise issues.

Negatives: No elevators. This may deter individuals with mobility issue from staying at this establishment. Glasses in the bathroom. You cannot determine how or with what they were cleaned with. I prefer disposal paper cups due to sanitary reasons. The Continental Breakfast area was not well maintained. Everywhere we looked we could find dust and dirt in the seating area. (sills, walls, table legs, chairs)

Positives: Good Wifi. Free continental breakfast with enough variety to satisfy a traveler which was included in the price of our stay. The location. Easy to find and on a main thoroughfare.

Summary: This is an establishment you should seriously consider whenever traveling through Fredericton, NB.

Room Tip: If all the rooms have not been updated, ensure you request a recently updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

It was an amazing experience overall. The housekeepers were straight forward and did their job very well. The staffs were very friendly and kind. The breakfast was good too. it was a good stay. Thank You!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Indira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

It's an older hotel. The room was fine. Nothing special. It was a bit noisy from younger people on our floor. The kids liked the pool, but it is quite small. It would get two stars, but the breakfast was much better than expected.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Nasty girl at front desk. I had a reservation, but dropped by earlier to confirm. I didn't even get two words out and she snarled at me saying, "not possible were full". Didn't even give me a chance to explain.

There is no need to be nasty like that.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Nicedud87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This is an older hotel so has a musty smell. It had an inside and outside pool as well as a hot tub and sauna room and a very small fitness room off of the pool area. Free parking, free wifi, free breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericton hotels
4.6 km away
Ramada Fredericton
Ramada Fredericton
#10 of 21 in Fredericton
629 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Fredericton Hotel & Suites
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#1 of 21 in Fredericton
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#6 of 21 in Fredericton
475 reviews
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Fredericton
3.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton

Address: 958 Prospect St, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 2T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fredericton
Price Range: ₹ 4,879 - ₹ 5,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wandlyn Hotel Fredericton
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing