We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful ”

Sandy Hook RV Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winnipeg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Hook RV Resort
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

My family and I were in the area for the Icelandic Festival in Gimli. Although we never did book, silly us, the management who took our call were still friendly, courteous and even offered alternatives for places to try on this very busy weekend. Thank you Sandy Hook for your professionalism and business spirit!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016

My husband and I came across this great location in the summer of 2014. The lots are accommodating to all sizes of campers. Security gates with 24hr access keeps traffic to a minimum and allows children to ride their bikes around safely. Large well maintained pool available. Play park for the kids. Activities throughout the summer, such as film night, football games on the big screen with potluck, fireworks, Halloween in August just to name a few. We enjoyed biking to The Town of Winnipeg Beach, where I suggest the pickerel at "The Boardwalk ". We had a lot at the south end of Aron Street where we had the best neighbors in the campground. The owner's Richard & Mona were very welcoming and helpful to us and are available 24hrs a day on any issue however small it is. We highly recommend Sandy Hook RV & Campground Resort for your next Seasonal Site or weekend getaway.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank tedstone13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been at this resort for over ten years and have found Management are striving to always improve services and facilities at this park. We also find Management very friendly and helpful. From our experience when we required major assistance in moving and repositioning our RV, Management willingly came with the needed heavy equipment to do the job and spent many hours helping us.
This park is very family oriented. It was only a few years ago that Management built a new heavy wooden play stucture for the children. There is also a soccer pitch for the kids at the front of the park. The pool is very well maintained and geared toward the children. What more can you ask for. Many activities are planned for both the children and adults.
Child safety is a priority at this park. There are security gates to prevent random traffic from entering the park and endangering the children. Speed bumps are also an asset at this park to ensure drivers maintain slow speed as the children are everywhere.
Please ignore any negative reviews about this park as party goers and rule breakers can always go somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This will be our fourth year as a seasonal resident at Sandy Hook RV Park. The gated entrance and vehicle restriction to residents only and the low speed limit gives us as grandparent’s peace of mind, knowing that our grandchildren (3 to 12 years) are free to cycle, play chase etc and move around the whole site freely. Residents are extremely friendly, helpful and keep an eye on the safety of all.
The treed lots come in various sizes, fully serviced, reasonably priced with ongoing upgrades. Play area, heated pool, volleyball and kid’s football area. Most weekends have entertainment such as Bandt Fireworks, Annual Golf Tournament and Pig Roast (dinner), Kids Weekend, Banjo Bowl and a favorite with all is Halloween in the Park.
The usual campsite regulations are no different than Provincial or any other campsite and are enforced. Just south of the park is Winnipeg Beach, Gimli to the north, which has a hospital and main name stores.
Come have a look, it takes us 1hr 15min from the south side of the city and believe me, if it wasn’t good, we would not be here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Davmar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

One of the best places. A safe place to bring your children. A perfect place to plan your next get away. The people that you meet there will not just be your friends, but by the end of your stay you will consider them to be your lake family.A place that you will miss every winter and count down to get back to. The beautiful relaxing surroundings, children's games and movies in the park, live music, Bomber games in the park and fireworks are some of the activities that are organized every season. The volleyball games and the pool are wonderful ways to enjoy yourself too. I truly miss it there. If you get the chance, I would highly recommend that you check it out.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GRuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,024 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,167 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Hook RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Hook RV Resort

Address: | Sandy Hook, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Winnipeg
Number of rooms: 240

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing