We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Derby , UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

stayed here for business and found the staff very helpful. They even gave us complimentary tickets for the Winnipeg Goldeyes baseball game that evening. It was my first time at a baseball game, and I thanked the staff for the nice suprise,
I found the area pleasant despite some reviewers saying they had experienced issues int he car park next door, but our hire car spent alot of time in there over the 3 days with no issues at all.
Close to numerous bars, it was a great location for exploring downtown Peg

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary360, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for completing and submitting your review for the Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown. My Team and I appreciate the positive comments. We also believe our Hotel is in a great location in the City if you are visiting for Business or Pleasure. The service and room enhancements we have made at the Hotel as well as the continued development of the community by the City and the U of W has contributed to making our Hotel a great Hotel that guests love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    102
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
41
10
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel three night recently for a business trip. The location is excellent and the staff are incredibly attentive and professional. My only complaints would be that the traffic noise can be a bit loud as it's on such a major street and the restaurant food was pretty terrible, but there is a fantastic cafe right across the street that is open morning noon and night. Other than that the rooms are great, the beds are great, and the rates are decent enough for Winnipeg.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anitacouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary360, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. My staff and I are very proud of our new service enhancements at the Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown. Our location is just steps away from the University of Winnipeg, The MTS Centre, Shopping, Restaurants and so much more. Garbonzos and Starbucks are two of the outlets that our guest's can enjoy while staying at our Hotel. Location and convenience are just 2 reasons to stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown when visiting our City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Excellent location if you have to be down-town.
Back to back with the Balmoral St. bus station and the University of Winnipeg.
Both a Pizza-place and a Starbucks have been opened on the same property.
Tipical HI rooms, good and had been up-dated.
Parking (paid) is adjacent
Restaurant is good for both break-fast and lunch.
Free Wi-Fi
Very good front-desk

Room Tip: High floor-suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary360, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. My Service Team and I are very proud and excited about all of the new enhancements to the Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown and the surrounding area. Garbonzos and Starbucks just steps from our Lobby. The MTS Centre just minutes away. The U of W Campus expansion and the introduction of Rapid Transit will continue to make the Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown a great location for accommodations when visiting Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The hotel resraurant food is awful.. go outside
I nhad to return my plate... gross

They do not have a valet service... so you have to carry your luggages.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weezie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary360, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. The Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown has recently experienced a multi million dollar enhancement to the property.
The Hotel Team strives to enhance guest satisfaction and appreciates the opportunity to correct a guest's concern before their departure.
Our team's guest service satisfaction score is 93.42% and we are committed to keep improving this score. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like discuss any comments as I love to hear from my guests. We appreciate your comments to help us build a great hotel that guests love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I've stayed at this place under a number of ownerships. This is one of the better ones. Be aware that it is next to the bus station, and that there are a number of vagrants. Although not as bad as 25 years ago when it was a slum area. Winnipeg has really cleaned if up, but you'll still find people sleeping (or passed out) on the floor of the parking ramp.

The place is ideally situated, kitty corner from the Bay and Portage Place, and not far from the zoo and the Forks. Winnipeg streets are poorly laid out, so get a map. You can cut off lots of time if you know which streets cut across. I say this because getting to the front door can be a challenge. You have to drive around the block because you can't turn left across colony to get.

Rooms are clean and the staff very courteous. So I'd highly recommend it, eh?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary360, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay with us. You are correct, the area surrounding the Hotel has gone through numerous dramatic improvements in the last 2 years. The Bus Depot is no longer Downtown and the University of Winnipeg has utilized the space for a restaurant, coffee shop and various shops for their students. The University has also added several new buildings to their campus. The Parking Lot has also recently been through many enhancements. Our Hotel has also completed a multi million dollar face lift and many enhancements to improve our guest service. We are in a great Downtown location for any event being held at the MTS Center. My staff and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#16 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#14 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Address: 360 Colony St | Corner of Colony and Portage, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,191 - ₹ 9,624
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome back, we missed you! We have recently updated our guest room bathrooms and lobby area, fitness area and rooms. Located next to the University of Winnipeg and close to everything; just a few minutes walk from the convention centre and the MTS Centre, the city's major event venue and the Winnipeg Jets NHL Hockey team. Everything is within walking distance. Shop until you drop then come and relax in our Fireside Lounge or enjoy dinner in the Peppermill restaurant or visit the more then 40 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Don't forget to visit the onsite Starbucks. Catch Rapid transit from the hotel directly to the University of Manitoba and Investors Group Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites, Winnipeg Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing