We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT HELPFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NOT HELPFUL”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I was in Winnipeg on business with Air Command (17 Wing) from Jan 16 to Jan 21, 2012. I booked this hotel for the location to the Base. When I booked my room, I used my credit card for the booking. When I arrived at the hotel I decided to pay for my room upfront with cash intead. About halfway through my week's stay I received a message on the phone in my room from my family with the instructions that I needed to call them back as soon as possible. I tried to make the call from my room and realized that I couldn't make a long distance call. So then I decided to call my family collect, which again I was met with not being able to make the long distance COLLECT call. I called the front desk to ask why I was not able to make a collect call and I was told that I paid cash for my room so I couldn't make any form of long distance call whether it was collect or not, and that I had to go down to the front desk with my credit card so that they could charge it $50.00 so I could make my collect call. I explained to the front desk that they had my credit card info from when I booked the room. That wasn't good enough. My question is, why do you need a credit card to make a COLLECT call??????? Especially when you already have my credit card number on file. I was never able to make my call from my room, so I had to wait until the next day to call collect from the Base. Also, the computer access that they have in the lobby is terrible, very old computer which doesn't work properly. The restaurant is somewhat expensive for what it is, and there is a very poor dinner selection on the menu. Also while I was there the pool was under construction. Rooms were noisy, especially since you could hear every toilet flush and shower run.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack999_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    115
    47
    18
    18
See reviews for
115
38
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. Underground parking was very nice because it was snowing and icy. The fish tanks in the elevators were cool. The hotel could use updating everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravenschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbmcha, Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you found your stay comfortable and memorable.

I do appreciate your comments and would like to tell you we have completed the renovation to our state of the art fitness room and we will be finished the complete renovation of our pool and Captain Cannon Play Structure by January.

I would like to thank you again for your comments and look forward to you return visit.

Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We recently drove to Alberta and stayed at the Holiday Inn near the Airport in Winnipeg on our way. We'd been driving all day, it was late and we didn't have reservations. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We quickly had a very clean and comfortable room and later enjoyed a meal in the hotel restaurant.

The staff were very efficient, made us feel welcome. I'd have no hesitation staying there again.

Room Tip: Try one of the VIP floors. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Good Afternoon Don,

i would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. we work very hard to ensure all of our guests are comfortable and well taken care of. i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Happy Holidaying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Hotel is clean and quiet. (except near the pool) Restaurant food is very good, although a bit pricey. Front desk staff are pleasant and helpful when booking airport shuttles or for local information.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylarCanada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The windows in the room look like they hadn't been cleaned in years, cobweb and dozens of dead spiders, lady bugs etc. Odd since everything else appeared clean. I don't understand why a housekeeper wouldn't just run a vacuum along the edge. This was the only real issue and I inspected the room extremely well based on another reviewer's bed bug story.
One other small complaint is the fishbowls in the elevators, very tacky. I'm not a PETA member by any means but you almost feel bad for the unhealthy looking little creatures smacking up against the glass every time the elevator stops at a floor.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkylarC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#22 of 63 in Winnipeg
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
Address: 2520 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,700 - ₹ 12,498
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Completely Renovated Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport West hotel is located 3 miles (5 km) east of Winnipeg By-Pass Hwy #101 on Trans Canada Hwy #1, 2520 Portage Avenue. We have just completed a brand new makeover with a new look and feel to our 194 guest rooms, 16 Junior Suites and 18 one-bedroom suites including 2 suites which feature a Jetted tub. All guest accommodations feature in-room Keurig coffee makers, fridge, microwave, 37" Flat Screen TV's, cable TV with redesigned working desk area complete with computer access & 2 2-line phones. Wireless high-speed Internet. Open concept Licensed restaurant & lounge complete with 9 big screen TV's. Same day valet laundry service (Mon-Fri) plus coin operated washer/dryer facilities. Complimentary 24 hour transportation to/from Airport & Polo Park Shopping Centre. Free underground heated parking as well as surface parking. Business centre located in the main lobby. Meeting & function space available for groups of 2 - 350 persons. Our hotel is within driving distance to the Assiniboia Downs Race Track, Assiniboine Park & Zoo, Club Regent & McPhillips Casinos, Centennial Concert Hall, Forks Market, Manitoba Museum, MTS Centre, Western Canada Aviation Museum, Winnipeg Legislative Grounds & The Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football Stadium (all a must see when visiting Winnipeg). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing