We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have stayed at the Ft. Garry many times over the past seven years. We chose it as the hotel for our wedding guests in Canada, so it has a lot of great memories for us. Yes, the rooms hearken back to yesteryear - but I find that charming. And the beds - probably the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in. The hotel is right downtown - easy walking distance to the Forks and other attractions. There is plenty of parking. We'll be staying there again.
We have found the staff to be very accommodating and they gave us a great package rate for the rooms for our wedding. We (the grooms) even got a nice upgrade to a suite.
The Sunday brunch is phenomenal - and included with your room! Even the daily breakfast in the charming breakfast room is wonderful. The main level bar/restaurant is fun and has a lovely atmosphere.
The only thing I would tell you to avoid is the revolving restaurant in the attached building next door. We tried lunch there - really awful. It's not really part of the hotel - but just to warn you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    349
    141
    68
    43
See reviews for
171
362
85
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When I first entered my room, I thought I was going back in time. My room was fully covered of pink design wall paper. Not very nice to see. Although I found out later that the other rooms were not as colorful as mine...

The morning after my first night, the hairdryer was not working. So had to call the room service who was very kind and quick to bring me another hairdryer. The food was amazing and so yummy! The service was great. But I was there for business and did not pay for the room.

The location of the hotel is very very close to the forks market (walking distance).

On that note, if you have to pay out of your pocket, I do not recommend this hotel. I think it's way to pricey for room you will get. Plus, you will have to pay for internet wireless and parking (which is not uncommon in "fancy" hotels).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savoiei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I traveled to this hotel on a recent business trip.

I chose this hotel only because a reception I was attending was going to be held at this hotel.

CON
The hotel is very old and rooms have not been updated for some time. Bathroom tiles and counter - very old and shabby looking.

CON
I asked for a late check out of 4 pm to do a phone call. This was not permitted unless I paid for another half day (~80$). Of course I didn't choose this. Interesting though that I arrived at 3 am - but had to pay for the whole night before :-).

CON - desk staff were not very helpful and were not empowered to make decisions that would have made for a better customer experience for me (i.e. late check out).

CON
Washcloths looked like they were cleaning rags.

CON
TV looked like an antique - old tube TV that flickered a lot.

PRO
The bed, bedding and alarm clock were relatively new. Towels and bath robes were new.

Overall - I would not choose or recommend this hotel - despite it's historical significance..

Room Tip: This is not a modern hotel - if you want to see a bit of history - :-) then this is your hotel! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dockevincanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I always look forward to a stay at Fort Garry, the last visit being with my wife in the Summer of 2011. Friendly staff, a super clean environment, and the refurbished charm of one of Canada's finest hotels of a bye-gone era highlight the atmosphere. To add to that, the excellent food presentations, each and every day, What more could you ask for? Oh yes, you cannot forget about the luxurious bath towels and a most comfortable bed. Well done and thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 and it was absolutely great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights but we were pleased to leave. The hotel is in a great downtown location but we had a number of problems.

We were told on arrival that the swimming pool was closed. With a six year old, the pool was a key reason for choosing this hotel and we had not been advised that it would be closed when we booked.

The restaurant at breakfast was freezing. We had to go back to the room for our fleeces.

Our room was under a function room even though it was on the 10th floor. On the second night, we hardly slept due to the noise.

On the next morning, the welcome board advised of six weddings. We had little sleep the next night as a result.

The hotel did offer to move us but by that stage we had been there 2 nights and packing away and moving didn't appeal.

The hotel should warn people about functions and consider avoiding the adjacent rooms.

The room itself was too small for 3 of us. You would need to upgrade to get sufficient room.

Other people have already commented on the $15 wifi charge. The cafes at the Forks offer free wifi. There is no need to pay. I would have expected a hotel of this calibre to offer wifi free.

If we do return, we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SolihullPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,117 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
881 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Property: Fort Garry Hotel
Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,100 - ₹ 14,713
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers from 6am- noon. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing