We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday of a lifetime ”
Review of Lazy Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Churchill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Bear Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

A year ago my friend & her husband asked if I'd like to go on holiday to Churchill, Winnipeg & Toronto with them. I went and my daughter came too.
What an absolutely amazing holiday, I really can't find the words to describe it.
Lazy Bear Lodge is comfortable, the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful, they strive every day to make it the best day ever with experiences to top the one before. Our guide for the 3 days we were there was Jud, what an amazing, knowledgeable young woman, she had Noah as her 'side kick' he was such a kind, helpful young man. The biggest thank you to them both for making our holiday what it was. Lazy Bear had us met at Winnipeg airport & take us onto our overnight hotel ( that's another trip adviser story, WOW) next day spent in Winnipeg with a tour guide who was also absolutely full of knowledge, included a visit to the polar bear conservation zoo, super amazing, followed by lunch out. We were taken onto the Calm Air airfield to journey on to Churchill. Three days in Churchill, your of Churchill, dog sledding, Europe came our to visit us, 2 days on the tundra with a plus of a helicopter ride over the iced sea to look for the bears, this was an added extra due to the early freeze with most of the bears out on the ice, my ! How amazing, we saw line bears & mumma bears with their cubs. Back to Winnipeg for an overnight stay, free morning to roam. I cannot put into words how I felt about Winnipeg, I really didn't want to leave. Onto Toronto for 3 days, that's another story.
So, lazy bear lodge, go for it as soon as you can, you really won't be disappointed.
Thank you everyone at Lazy Bear for this amazing special unforgettable expetience

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank sOngbird55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a great trip to Churchill and Lazy Bear Lodge. They thought of everything and it was very well organized. Our guide Judd was awesome. So knowledgeable and cheery. We saw 6 bears. 4 were very active and wrestling for hours. That was amazing to see. It was colder than expected so dress very warm. Exciting to see the ice up happen. Judd gave us tons of knowledge about the bears and the area! Hope to go back in the summer some time.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

I didnt actually stay here so i cannot comment on the rooms. However, i went here for lunch and enjoyed a hearty soup with crusty bread. Nice to sit looking out of the window hoping for a bear to pass by...none did. The cafe/shop/dining area was rustic like a log cabin. Very cosy. A few skinned bears hanging on the walls, so dont go if this will upset you. A nice little gift shop. Waiting staff pleasant. Shop staff, so so.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank soniaroberts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here and came to see the whales. Im not sure how to rate this hotel, because it is very basic. This would probably be a two star by typical US or Canada standards. The staff is excellent and the rooms are spotless and I think this as good as it gets in Churchill. I would stay here again without hesitation if we returned. We also did tours with the hotel and they were great. My only complaint was a surprise tour to the fort that we didn’t want and it was torture. We were there over an hour and they should just tell the story when you float by.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lovetotravelfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We stayed with Lazy Bear and went on their polar bear expedition. The entire stay was wonderful. The lodge was built by the owner and it is unique and lovely. The staff is warm and friendly. Food is good and served by delightful and adventurous servers. Our guide for the week was Judd and she was great. We saw bears and the area as well as birds and of course the Beulga whales. And, we were lucky and saw Northern Lights 2 nights. Thank you for a memorable experience.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank wayfarer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Churchill hotels
1.1 km away
Bear Country Inn
Bear Country Inn
#5 of 5 in Churchill
53 reviews
0.7 km away
Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse
0.7 km away
Tundra Inn
Tundra Inn
#1 of 5 in Churchill
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Bear Lodge

Address: 313 Kelsey Blvd. | Box 931, Churchill, Manitoba R0B 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Price Range: ₹ 4,879 - ₹ 10,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is no regular log cabin. The timber was reclaimed from a fire in the boreal forest. Using hand tools, the logs fit together so well as to appear as if they were melted into each other. The windows were recycled from an 1800's Hudson Bay Trading Post, and if you look closely, you'll see the characteristic wave of the old glass. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Bear Lodge Hotel Churchill
Lazy Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing