We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
131
43
15
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
43
15
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeluga whalesplace to stayarctic charthe ownerlog cabinhudson baynorthern lightsdog mushingour tour guidememorable experiencesummer adventurein townno alcoholcoastal tourrooms are comfortableone of a kindstaff were really friendly
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a great trip to Churchill and Lazy Bear Lodge. They thought of everything and it was very well organized. Our guide Judd was awesome. So knowledgeable and cheery. We saw 6 bears. 4 were very active and wrestling for hours. That was amazing to see. It was colder than expected so dress very warm. Exciting to see the ice up happen. Judd gave us tons of knowledge about the bears and the area! Hope to go back in the summer some time.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

I didnt actually stay here so i cannot comment on the rooms. However, i went here for lunch and enjoyed a hearty soup with crusty bread. Nice to sit looking out of the window hoping for a bear to pass by...none did. The cafe/shop/dining area was rustic like a log cabin. Very cosy. A few skinned bears hanging on the walls, so dont go if this will upset you. A nice little gift shop. Waiting staff pleasant. Shop staff, so so.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank soniaroberts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here and came to see the whales. Im not sure how to rate this hotel, because it is very basic. This would probably be a two star by typical US or Canada standards. The staff is excellent and the rooms are spotless and I think this as good as it gets in Churchill. I would stay here again without hesitation if we returned. We also did tours with the hotel and they were great. My only complaint was a surprise tour to the fort that we didn’t want and it was torture. We were there over an hour and they should just tell the story when you float by.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lovetotravelfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We stayed with Lazy Bear and went on their polar bear expedition. The entire stay was wonderful. The lodge was built by the owner and it is unique and lovely. The staff is warm and friendly. Food is good and served by delightful and adventurous servers. Our guide for the week was Judd and she was great. We saw bears and the area as well as birds and of course the Beulga whales. And, we were lucky and saw Northern Lights 2 nights. Thank you for a memorable experience.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank wayfarer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Lazy Bear Lodge (and Expeditions) sets out to make your adventure in Canada's subarctic North spectacular, and they succeed. From the decor details to the impressive menu, this lodge sets the tone for a spectacular visit to Churchill. Check out their tour and adventure packages, too. You will be well taken care of- from your room to your polar bear guard and your tour guide. Churchill is a must see and a life changer. Yes, the superlative cliches are true. Get to Churchill!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the busy lounge and entrance area.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank LNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews