We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great little place”
Review of Bluesky Bed & Sled

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Churchill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluesky Bed & Sled
Ranked #1 of 9 Churchill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2017

a great b&b in a great little isolated town. Great hosts with lots of activities to do. There's polar bears, bulaga whales, northern lights to see and the owners have a great dog sledding venture. well worth a trip to this place known as the polar bear capital of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diamond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2016

My partner and I stayed at Bluesky for a special birthday, and with it being our first trip to Churchill we had high expectations. These expectations were totally exceeded by Bluesky! Jenn, Gerald and Gramma could not have been any more welcoming, we felt totally at home even though we unfortunately only got to stay with them for two nights. They went above and beyond in every way, suggesting places we go, driving out to show us the sights, driving out to view a polar bear and the breakfast and snacks provided were unbelievably good! Hearing how they talk about the area and seeing how they live is nothing short of inspiring, and even made us consider giving life in Churchill a go. We were totally overwhelmed by the experience and the hospitality provided. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneteaspoon0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

From arrival, we were greeted with warmth, helpful guidance and some amazing bites to eat. Jenafor, Jolene (Gramma) and Gerald worked so hard, never seeming to stop. Despite all of that, they seemed to have all the time in the world for us. They were wonderful hosts, very attentive and kind to our kids. The highlight, without doubt was our last day where after making us a delicious breakfast, they took us to see some bears (mother with cubs out on the ice), followed by a dog sled at sunset. We felt privileged, being the last people to get taken out by them in Churchill for the year. Then, to top it off as the northern lights came out, they took us back to the airport, pulling our kids on a toy sled into the terminal before saying farewell. Not wishing to put the Azures in a position here; I'm sure they can't do that for every guest, but I do want to illustrate just how far they go out of their way for their guests. They love their dogs, all 32 of them, something that was apparent in their every word and gesture during our stay. Sincere thanks for making us feel so special. Of the many trips we've ever been on, this, without doubt, ranks as one of our most memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Laura085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

After arriving at Bluesky, we were going through the check in process, when we were told to get in the truck as polar bears had been seen close by. We got in the truck, and 15 minutes later were treated to a mother and cub trying out the ice. What an amazing start to your vacation, and all this before unpacking.
The B&B was so homely, and Ken, Gerald and Gramma worked so tirelessly to ensure you have a memorable stay.
Whilst eating out at a local restaurant with them, Jen shouted out for us to come quickly as the Northern lights were showing. Then we got in their truck and went to their husky yard in the forest, and Wow....
We also got to see 17 polar bears on our arctic rover trip, so lucky.
Thank you Bluesky, you were amazing, and the "bannock"

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jez2Scarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I stayed here Nov 2015 to see the polar bears. I went on a tundra buggy one day and saw over 30 bears. I did the dog sled ride too with this couple and they are amazing. They really care about their dogs and take good care of them. I highly recommend this place for polar bear season or to see the northern lights as well.

The whole house has such great energy in it. You really feel at home in the living room and dining room area. Breakfast is excellent as well! This is the best place to stay in Churchill.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Churchill hotels
1.3 km away
Bear Country Inn
Bear Country Inn
#5 of 5 in Churchill
53 reviews
0.8 km away
Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse
0.8 km away
Tundra Inn
Tundra Inn
#1 of 5 in Churchill
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesky Bed & Sled? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesky Bed & Sled

Address: 100 Button Street, Churchill, Manitoba, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World renowned Musher Gerald Azure owns and operates this coveniently located B&B on the edge of the Tundra within the Town of Churchill. Breakfast include fresh ground Manitoba wheat and tundra berries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing